AIRBOURNE Interviewed At The Netherlands’ FORTAROCK XL Festival (Video)

On June 1, FaceCulture conducted an interview with Joel O’Keeffe (vocals, lead guitar) of Australian hard rockers AIRBOURNE at the Fortarock XL festival at Goffertpark in Nijmegen, The Netherlands. You can now watch the chat in two parts below.

AIRBOURNE‘s third album, “Black Dog Barking”, was released on May 21 via Roadrunner Records. The follow-up to 2010’s “No Guts. No Glory.” was produced by Brian Howes, who has previously worked with HINDER, DAUGHTRY and PUDDLE OF MUDD.

In a recent interview with, AIRBOURNE stated about the new CD: “With the second album, ‘No Guts. No Glory.’, we might’ve rushed a few things here and there because we had two world tours back to back up against each other. We recorded the music just in the middle of all that. We even had some shows between recording. This time, we spaced it out, and got our sound back to tape again…. [This time] we worked with producer Brian Howes. He loves the same kind of music that we do like IRON MAIDEN, MOTÖRHEAD, JUDAS PRIEST and Elvis Presley. He always wanted to make a rock ‘n’ roll record, but he never got the chance to. When we recorded with him, that was our goal. It was very comfortable. We got to do this right.”

Regarding the “Black Dog Barking” album title, AIRBOURNE said: “When we started this band, the music scene had a lot of new stuff going on in the late ’90s and early 2000s. METALLICA were still as big as they are. However, when we’d play shows, people would be like, ‘What do you need all of those amps for?’ We were like, ‘What? This is rock ‘n’ roll.’ They played this fucking indie shit or whatever the fuck it is. Our mindset was, ‘Fuck you and your indie shit. We’re going to play rock ‘n’ roll!’ The venues started closing down because of noise pollution. We weren’t going to let rock ‘n’ roll die, though. That’s what ‘Black Dog Barking’ is about. It’s a call to arms. If you’re with us, you’re on our side. If you’re not, then we’re coming for you.”

AIRBOURNE is Joel O’Keeffe (vocals/lead guitar), Ryan O’Keeffe (drums), David Roads (guitar) and Justin Street (bass).





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *