ALICE IN CHAINS To Perform New Single On ‘Jimmy Kimmel Live!’

ALICE IN CHAINS has set a May 28 release date for its highly anticipated new album, “The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here”. Those who can’t wait that long to hear new music can receive an instant download of new single, “Stone”, by pre-ordering the album on iTunes.

The band, who grace the cover of this month’s Revolver magazine, will perform “Stone” April 10 on “Jimmy Kimmel Live!” “Stone” follows the album’s hugely successful first single “Hollow”, which hit No. 1 on both the Mainstream and Active Rock radio charts, while its companion video has amassed more than a million views on YouTube.

“The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here” was recorded in Los Angeles with producer Nick Raskulinecz (FOO FIGHTERS, DEFTONES). ALICE IN CHAINS guitarist Jerry Cantrell recently told Rolling Stone that the CD is “a unique record that’s completely different from anything we ever did,” adding, “The band is moving ahead in new territory that we haven’t been to before, but we haven’t lost our identity.” The Pulse Of Radio asked Cantrell to talk more about the band’s evolution on its fifth studio effort. “The cool thing about record is it’s a snapshot of time, of that group of individuals,” he said. “And when you line up all of those records back to back, you can see where the band changes, evolves, you can maybe feel what they’re going through, you know, and I think you could probably say that with all of our records. You can get a pretty good snapshot of what’s going on there and, you know, we’re in a different place now.”

Cantrell told Revolver magazine that the title track’s lyrics take on the beliefs of certain organized religions, saying, “What I’ve seen is the most basic message to most faith systems is in contradiction with how it gets applied . . . It always amazes me that some of the most hateful and hurtful things are done in the name of some sort of belief system.”

“The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here” is ALICE IN CHAINS‘ second with William DuVall on vocals. It follows up 2009’s “Black Gives Way To Blue”, the group’s first all-new collection of material in 14 years and first since the 2002 death of original singer Layne Staley.

“The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here” track listing:

01. Hollow
02. Pretty Done
03. Stone
04. Voices
05. The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here
06. Lab Monkey
07. Low Ceiling
08. Breath On A Window
09. Scalpel
10. Phantom Limb
11. Hung On A Hook
12. Choke

ALICE IN CHAINS will hit the road on a spring trek that starts on April 25 in Miami Beach and includes headlining slots at the Rocklahoma, Carolina Rebellion, Welcome To Rockville and Rock On The Range festivals.

A person going by the online handle “TheSorceressKnight” at BLABBERMOUTH.NET has unveiled two additional images hidden in the cover artwork for the album.

When loaded into Photoshop, the main picture of a dinosaur skull reveals first a mirror image of that photo, and then underneath both what looks like a skull belonging to a demon or devil.