AMBERIAN DAWN: New Album Details Revealed

Finnish female-fronted symphonic metallers AMBERIAN DAWN have set “Circus Black” as the title of their fourth studio album, due in Finland on February 29, 2012 via Spinefarm Records. The band’s mainman, keyboardist and guitarist Tuomas Seppälä composed all ten songs for the CD and vocalist Heidi Parviainen penned the lyrics.

“Circus Black” features guest appearances by Timo Kotipelto (STRATOVARIUS) and Jens Johansson (STRATOVARIUS, DIO, YNGWIE MALMSTEEN’S RISING FORCE). Kotipelto sings lead vocal parts on “Cold Kiss” and Johansson plays a keyboard solo on “Crimson Flower”.

Commented Tuomas: “‘Circus Black’ is the most impressive AMBERIAN DAWN album so far. Musically it represents the most sophisticated and most symphonic edge of AMBERIAN DAWN music. There’s more diversity on this album than never before. This is the first time we used a real choir and we gathered some really excellent professional opera singers together to be able to achieve the best-sounding choir possible. This choir was conducted by Mikko P. Mustonen from Pathos Music. He also arranged the choir and orchestral parts.

“We managed once again to get some world-class guests on this album. So, the production is our biggest so far and the final polish on this album was given by Teropekka Virtanen (mixing engineer) and Mika Jussila (mastering engineer) at legendary Finnvox Studios in Finland.

“The whole band did excellent job with recordings. It was really awesome, that Kasperi [Heikkinen] recovered from his hand injury just in time (only a couple of weeks before the mixing sessions started) and he was able to play guitar solos on this album. Even in the fall it seemed that I and Kimmo [Korhonen] would have to play all guitar parts by ourselves.”

“Circus Black” track listing:

01. Circus Black (3:49)
02. Cold Kiss (feat. Timo Kotipelto) (3:31)
03. Crimson Flower (feat. Jens Johansson) (4:25)
04. Charnel’s Ball (4:27)
05. Fight (3:21)
06. Letter (4:31)
07. I Share With You This Dream (3:37)
08. Rivalry Between Good and Evil (instrumental) (4:00)
09. Guardian (5:09)
10. Lily of the Moon (4:12)

AMBERIAN DAWN last year parted ways with Tommi Kuri (bass), Emil Tobias Pohjalainen (guitar) and Joonas Pykälä-aho (drums) and replaced them with Jukka Koskinen (NORTHER, WINTERSUN), Kimmo Korhonen (WALTARI, HELION, SOLACIDE) and Heikki Saari (NORTHER, NAILDOWN), respectively.

AMBERIAN DAWN‘s current lineup:

* Heidi Parviainen – Vocals
* Tuomas Seppälä – Keyboards, Guitar
* Kasperi Heikkinen – Guitar
* Kimmo Korhonen (WALTARI, HELION, SOLACIDE) – Guitar
* Jukka Koskinen (NORTHER, WINTERSUN) – Bass
* Heikki Saari (NORTHER, NAILDOWN) – Drums

For more information, visit



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *