AMEBIX: ‘Sonic Mass’ Artwork, Track Listing Revealed

Cult British underground heavyweights AMEBIX recently parted company with Alternative Tentacles Records after 26 years. The band has decided to step up to the challenge of releasing its own work and has founded Amebix Records in conjunction with Easyaction. They are releasing the new album and back catalogue under the new label while Profane Existence will continue to manufacture and sell the band’s work as high-quality vinyl releases, with global distribution through Cargo Records.

AMEBIX‘s new album, “Sonic Mass”, will be made available on September 23 as a CD and gatefold vinyl LP, as well as a digital download.

“Sonic Mass” track listing:

01. Days
02. Shield Wall
03. The Messenger
04. God Of The Grain
05. Visitation
06. Sonic Mass Part 1
07. Sonic Mass Part 2
08. Here Come The Wolf
09. The One
10. Knights Of The Black Sun

A new interview with AMEBIX about “Sonic Mass” can be seen below.

AMEBIX recently released its first new material for almost 24 years. The song is entitled “Knights Of The Black Sun” and was made available on June 3. A limited-edition 12-inch vinyl single was issued on Amebix Records, in conjunction with Profane Existence. The digital download is available through Amebix Records/Easyaction.

An animation version of “Knights Of The Black Sun” can be seen below. The video was created by the team of animator Andy Lefton and director Fin McAteer. Lefton also made a follow-up interview with AMEBIX members Rob Miller and Stig C. Miller to give a little more insight into the epic work that is the band’s new album, “Sonic Mass”.

“Knights Of The Black Sun” was recorded at The Lodge Studios in Northampton and was engineered and produced by AMEBIX drummer Roy Mayorga (NAUSEA, SOULFLY, STONE SOUR). Singer/bassist Rob Miller (a.k.a. The Baron) described the release in a recent interview as “a coming of age for our music. This whole body of work has been not only about music, but also art. This is going to surprise a lot of people.”

Formed in the late Seventies and hailed as the godfathers of crust punk and extreme metal, AMEBIX had long lain dormant until the addition of drummer Roy Mayorga (NAUSEA, CRISIS, SOULFLY, STONE SOUR), a DVD release, and a string of 2009 reunion shows reignited the flame. The band’s resurrection first resulted in the release of 2010’s “Redux” EP, which features live and re-recorded versions of several of the band’s best-loved classics, including “Winter”, “Chain Reaction”, and the immortal battle cry, “Arise!”. The songs were remixed by Mayorga and “Redux” is available from Profane Existence on CD, 12-inch LP and digitally.


Rob Miller: Vocals/Bass
Stig C. Miller: Guitars
Roy Mayorga: Drums/Keyboards/Mandolin




“Knights Of The Black Sun” animation video: