AMON: New Album Finally Arrives

“Liar In Wait”, the long-awaited new album from AMON — the resurrected Florida-based death metal band featuring former DEICIDE members Eric Hoffmann (guitar) and Brian Hoffman (guitar) alongside Jesse “Jecheal” Jolly (PROMETHEAN HORDE, DIABOLIC, SUCCESS WILL WRITE APOCALYPSE ACROSS THE SKY, AFTER DEATH) on vocals/bass and Mike Petrak (LEPROSY, SUCCESS WILL WRITE APOCALYPSE ACROSS THE SKY) on drums — has finally been made available via

The track listing for the effort is as follows:

01. Among Us (4:45)
02. Eye Of The Infinite (4:17)
03. Lash Thy Tongue And Vomit Lies (3:56)
04. Liar In Wait (4:22)
05. Reaching For Flesh (2:59)
06. Semblance Of Man (5:14)
07. Sentience And Sapience (3:26)
08. Spat Forth From The Darkness (3:33)
09. Wraith Of Gaia (3:20)

“Liar In Wait” was recorded and mixed at RedRoom Recorders in Tampa with producer Mark Prator.

AMON’s music video for the song “Among Us” was filmed on October 22, 2011 in Clearwater, Florida with director Chris Nemzek (former CROSSBREED guitarist).

In a an interview with U.K.’s Terrorizer magazine, Eric stated about the decision to bring AMON back from the dead, “We were actually going to use the [DEICIDE] name [for the new band], but [DEICIDE members Glen Benton and Steve Asheim] got on the bandwagon faster than us. “They basically took the name, and Glen writes all the lyrics, so the kids are familiar with that, but in the beginning we hired Glen, and we wrote most of the music. So we had to go out and find a singer, which was pretty difficult at the time.”

When asked about the musical direction of AMON, Eric said, “[The music’s] a little bit more technical than the DEICIDE stuff. It’s not too intricate, so it’s still catchy at the same time. You’ll still have a couple of classic DEICIDE beginnings, and then it’ll go into some killer technical, in-your-face shit.”

AMON recorded two demos — 1987’s “Feasting The Beast” and 1989’s “Sacrifical” — before signing with Roadrunner Records and changing its name to DEICIDE. After producing two extremely successful albums as DEICIDE, the band chose to make the AMON demos available on CD in 1993 under the title “Amon: Feasting The Beast”.

The Hoffman brothers parted ways with DEICIDE in 2004 after becoming embroiled in a bitter dispute with DEICIDE bassist/vocalist Glen Benton over royalties and publishing issues.