AMORAL: ‘Beneath’ Artwork, Release Date Revealed

“Beneath”, the fifth album from the Finnish metal/hard rock outfit AMORAL, will be released on October 26. Visit the official AMORAL webshop to see the different bundle options of the CD with all-new shirt designs. All pre-ordered albums will be signed by the whole band. The album comes equipped with a stunning 18-page poster booklet (made by Spanish artist Marta Nael), expanding the cover artwork into all its glory.

“Beneath” track listing:

01. Beneath
02. Wrapped in Barbwire
03. Silhouette
04. Things Left Unsaid
05. (Won’t Go) Home
06. Closure
07. Same Difference
08. Hours of Simplicity
09. Wastelands
10. This Ever Ending Game
11. No Future
12. Of Silent Stares Fire Lost

“(Won’t Go) Home” can be streamed using the SoundCloud player below. Whereas the CD’s first single, “Same Difference”, leaned towards hard rock, “(Won’t Go) Home”, with its riff-oriented structure and growling vocals, represents the heavier side of the new LP.

‘(Won’t Go) Home’ is a heavy and technical track through and through,” singer Ari Koivunen said. “Masi‘s [Hukari, guitar] Indian-flavored solo is also one of my favorites. Vocal-wise, this song was the hardest to pull off, as my voice was pretty blown after two weeks of singing in the studio. I ended up recording the vocals by myself during the small hours, and I’m very happy with the results.”

“Beneath” was recorded at Sound Supreme studios in Hämeenlinna, Finland, and was produced by Janne Saksa and guitarist Ben Varon.

“I’d describe the album as ‘three steps forward, one step back,'” Varon previously said. “There are several nods to our past in form of long songs, intricate riffs and growling vocals. But the main focus is still on the strong melodies, big choruses and catchy riffs, just as was on our last album, ‘Show Your Colors’.”

“Beneath” marks the recording debut of AMORAL‘s new guitarist Masi Hukari. Hukari — who joined the group late in the songwriting process — immediately wrote two songs together with Varon, both which ended up on the album. Another first is that, from now on, AMORAL has two lead guitar players.

Masi is such a talent, it would have been a crime to make him ‘just’ the rhythm guitarist,” Ben explained. “It’s been killer to be able to do lead trade-off for the first time in the band’s history, for example. Masi is responsible for many of the guitar highlights of the album.”


Amoral by Imperiumi


Expanded artwork:


Photo credit: Valtteri Hirvonen


(Thanks: Melica / Night Elves)