ANATHEMA: ‘Weather Systems’ First-Week Sales Revealed

“Weather Systems”, the new album from the U.K. atmospheric rock band ANATHEMA, sold around 1,300 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at position No. 22 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

In other news, Holland’s FaceCulture conducted an interview with ANATHEMA vocalist/guitarist Vincent Cavanagh. You can now watch the chat in five parts below.

“Weather Systems” was released on April 24 via The End Records. The follow-up to 2010’s “We’re Here Because We’re Here” was recorded in Liverpool, North Wales and Oslo, each place significant to ANATHEMA past, present and future. The record was produced and mastered by Christer-André Cederberg (ANIMAL ALPHA, IN THE WOODS…, DRAWN), whom ANATHEMA‘s Daniel Cavanagh has described as “a revelation. His calmness and brilliance has helped to bring about the greatest inter-band chemistry that ANATHEMA have experienced together in their career.”

The bar for “Weather Systems” has been set pretty high, but Daniel Cavanagh is certain that the album will exceed these lofty expectations, stating, “it feels like we are at a creative peak right now, and this album reflects that. Everything from the production to the writing to the performances are a step up from our last album.”

He continues, “This is not background music for parties. The music is written to deeply move the listener, to uplift or take the listener to the coldest depths of the soul.”

The intertwining melodic structures of these profoundly beautiful songs are intensely powerful, yet simple. These are songs that will transport the listener closer to the heart of life, that is to say, to the heart of themselves.

It is also an album of polarity. The play of opposites; light and shade, birth and death, love and fear. The simple truths of life and loss, hope and strength and darker internal themes are all explored here.

ANATHEMA‘s career stretches back to 1990 when the band formed in Liverpool. Since then the band has embarked on a remarkable musical journey, initially emerging as pioneers of melodic heavy music and continually evolving over the ensuing years, always remaining true to their original goal of creating forward thinking, meaningful, passionate and honest music.

“Weather Systems” will please fans who call for more of Lee Douglas‘ vocals, as her role within ANATHEMA‘s brand of alternative, melodic rock has matured to become an integral energy. In this way and more, “Weather Systems” is the sound of a band finding their voice and growing in stature, moving further along their artistic path with a truly stunning musical vision.

Their best ever work? “Not yet,” says Daniel, but he does believe that with “Weather Systems” they have surpassed previous glories. “We are pleased and proud of the record and we feel that, alongside the best moments of ‘We’re Here Because We’re Here’, this record contains our very best work so far in what is becoming a long career.”

“Weather Systems” track listing:

01. Untouchable, Part 1
02. Untouchable, Part 2
03. The Gathering Of The Clouds
04. Lightning Song
05. Sunlight
06. The Storm Before The Calm
07. The Beginning And The End
08. The Lost Child
09. Internal Landscapes

Interview part 1:


Interview part 2:


Interview part 3:


Interview part 4:


Interview part 5:




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *