ANIMETAL USA: ‘Thesis Of A Cruel Angel’ Video Released

“Thesis Of A Cruel Angel”, the new video from ANIMETAL USA — the American counterpart to ANIMETAL, the Japanese heavy metal band which specialized in metal covers of popular Japanese anime/tokusatsu theme songs — can be seen below. The footage was shot by a fan at the group’s October 12, 2011 invitation-only CD-launch event in Tokyo, Japan.


* Mike Vescera (OBSESSION, LOUDNESS) – Vocals
* Scott Travis (JUDAS PRIEST, RACER X, FIGHT) – Drums
* Chris Impellitteri (IMPELLITTERI) – Guitar

Travis was unable to make ANIMETAL USA recent Loud Park concert due to his touring commitments with JUDAS PRIEST and was temporarily replaced by former SLAYER/TESTAMENT drummer Jon Dette.

ANIMETAL USA released its self-titled debut album in Japan on October 12 via Sony Music Entertainment.

Commented Impellitteri: “I should clarify what ANIMETAL USA are doing musically for those of you that are saying ‘WTF??’

ANIMETAL USA is taking this music very seriously by mixing dark thematic and classic anime songs with our own original metal riffs, screaming vocals, shredding guitar solos, and intense drum and bass section. On a few songs, we even used some short but iconic metal riffs written by some of our own favorite legends of metal in order to further excite the listener. It is definitely interesting to bring all of these forms of metal to the anime world, which is an amazing and intense culture in itself!

“And no, this band is not a comedy band like STEEL PANTHER. We are taking this very seriously and putting in a lot of time and effort with Sony to create a mix of intense metal music, anime, and theatrics! Plus we are working very hard to build an international fan base!

“Currently ANIMETAL USA is reaching a mass audience and exposing a brand new generation to metal that would not have been possible if we would have taken the traditional route. I think we have been exposed to over 25,000,000 people by playing live shows and TV specials during the month of October alone. So we are definitely bringing metal to a very wide audience that may not have embraced it otherwise.

“Lastly, since we had to create so much original music for ANIMETAL, we are considering releasing an extension of this band called DEATH STAR which musically will be 100% original. Either way, there will probably be two forms of music released by the four of us in the future! ANIMETAL and DEATH STAR!”

“Animetal USA” track listing is as follows:

01. Uchuusenkan Yamato
02. Gatchaman No Uta
03. Mazinger Medley
04. Makafushigi Adventure!
05. Zankokuna Tenshino Thesis
06. Aiwo Torimodose!!
07. Ganbare Dokaben
08. Pegasus Fantasy
09. Yuke Tigermask
10. Fight! Kinnikuman Go Fight!
11. Yukeyuke Hyuma