ANTHRAX Members Talk ‘Judas Priest’ In Video Interview

A three-minute video clip of ANTHRAX members Scott Ian and Charlie Benante talking about the band’s new song “Judas Priest” can be see below (courtesy of AOL‘s Noisecreep). The track comes off ANTHRAX‘s long-awaited new album, “Worship Music”, which will be released in the U.S. on September 13 via Megaforce Records (one day earlier in Europe through Nuclear Blast Records). The band’s first studio release in eight years marks the return of vocalist Joey Belladonna, whose last studio work with the group was 1990’s “Persistence Of Time”.

In a recent interview with, ANTHRAX guitarist Rob Caggiano states about “Judas Priest”, “This is an interesting song. This was the other song that got re-worked. ‘Judas Priest’ was originally called ‘Maniacal’, and at the time, on the first go-round of the record, it had my favorite lead on it. I thought it was one of the best parts on the whole album; even the riff under the solo I thought was awesome. The original version of the song, though, I think reminded everyone too much of ‘the other guy,’ if you know what I mean. There wasn’t anything wrong with the song, it just had a negative vibe to it. We felt like it needed to be re-worked and re-written, so to make a long story short, some of the riffs are the same but the majority of the song is completely different now. Along with ‘I’m Alive’, I’d have to say this is one of my favorite leads on the album. I was on tour with THE DAMNED THINGS when we were wrapping up work on the album. This was the last song to get finished on the album. I basically had to play the lead on a tour bus in Belgium! [laughs]”

ANTHRAX is rumored to be planning a “surprise” concert either at New York City’s Best Buy Theater or at an as-yet-undisclosed Best Buy store location on September 12, the day before “Worship Music”, is scheduled to be released in North America. The rumor was started by Scott Ian who posted this link on his Facebook page yesterday (Wednesday, August 10) with the text “These guys rule!!!”

The Omega Order is offering an exclusive pre-order bundle for “Worship Music”, featuring the new CD; “Fistful Of Metal” triple 10-inch picture discs; and an ANTHRAX LP slipmat (only available in this bundle).

“Worship Music” track listing:

01. Worship (intro)
02. Earth On Hell
03. The Devil You Know
04. Fight ‘Em Til You Can’t
05. I’m Alive
06. Hymn 1
07. In The End
08. The Giant
09. Hymn 2
10. Judas Priest
11. Crawl
12. The Constant
13. Revolution Screams