ANTHRAX Without SCOTT IAN, CHARLIE BENANTE: Indianapolis Footage Available

Fan-filmed video footage of ANTHRAX‘s January 27 concert at Murat Egyptian Room in Indianapolis, Indiana can be seen below. The performance was notable because it marked ANTHRAX‘s first-ever appearance without both Scott Ian (guitar) and Charlie Benante (drums).

ANTHRAX‘s setlist for the Indianapolis concert:

01. Earth On Hell
02. Fight ‘Em Till You Can’t
03. Caught In A Mosh
04. Antisocial (TRUST cover)
05. The Devil You Know (with DEATH ANGEL’s Rob Cavestany)
06. Indians (with DEATH ANGEL’s Ted Aguilar)
07. In The End (with DEATH ANGEL’s Rob Cavestany)
08. Got The Time (JOE JACKSON cover) (with Ted Aguilar)
09. Medusa (with DEATH ANGEL’s Ted Aguilar)


10. Madhouse (with DEATH ANGEL’s Rob Cavestany)
11. Metal Thrashing Mad
12. I Am The Law

On Wednesday, January 25, Ian contracted a bad viral infection that caused him to be hospitalized near his home in Los Angeles. He was put though a battery of tests, and received fluids intravenously. While he was allowed to go home to await the test results, ER doctors told him he could not fly for at least 24 hours; consequently Ian missed Thursday’s show in Kansas City and Friday’s Indianapolis concert. He rejoined the band in Fort Wayne on Saturday.

ANTHRAX drummer Charlie Benante is taking a short leave from the band’s concert tour to be with his mother who is terminally ill. Immediately following Thursday’s show Kansas City, Benante flew to New York to join his family at his mother’s bedside.

In Ian‘s absence, guitarists from TESTAMENT and DEATH ANGEL have stepped in to play his parts on various songs; starting with Friday’s show in Indianapolis, TESTAMENT‘s drummer Gene Hoglan is filling in for Benante.

“We didn’t want to cancel any of the concerts, we didn’t want to let anyone down,” said ANTHRAX‘s Rob Caggiano, “so we decided to figure out a way to keep the show on the road. We’re so grateful to the guys in TESTAMENT and DEATH ANGEL for stepping up.”