ARCH/MATHEOS: New Audio Interview Posted Online

On Friday, July 8, Jorge Ciudad of Chile’s web site conducted an interview with ARCH/MATHEOS, the new progressive rock band featuring FATES WARNING/OSI guitarist Jim Matheos and former FATES WARNING singer John Arch. You can now listen to the chat in 16 parts below.

ARCH/MATHEOS has released the first single off the group’s upcoming full-length debut, “Sympathetic Resonance”. The new track, a five-minute clip of the song “Stained Glass Sky” that clocks in at just less than 14 minutes, can be heard here.

Cover art for “Sympathetic Resonance” was fashioned using an image created by light painting photographer Dennis Calvert, who has described light painting as “The ability to see in four dimensions, time traveling, and creating fantasy using only what we base all reality on, light.”

Due on September 13 via Metal Blade Records, “Sympathetic Resonance” features the following track listing:

01. Neurotically Wired
02. Midnight Serenade
03. Stained Glass Sky
04. On the Fence
05. Any Given Day (Strangers Like Me)
06. Incense and Myrrh

ARCH/MATHEOS features an all-star lineup, including the talents of Joey Vera (ARMORED SAINT, ANTHRAX, FATES WARNING, SEVEN WITCHES) on bass, Bobby Jarzombek (HALFORD, FATES WARNING, SEBASTIAN BACH, RIOT) on drums, and Frank Aresti (FATES WARNING) on additional lead guitar.

Comments Matheos: “I think John and I work really well together. There’s a lot of mutual respect and trust in what we do. But we’re also both very critical of ourselves, and each other. This can make for a long and sometimes tedious process. But ultimately it’s one I enjoy because I think it brings out the best in both of us.”

Adds Arch: “When I first heard some of the arrangements Jim had written and recorded, it took quite some time before I could wrap my mind around the odd time signatures and guitar work going on here. There are some long compositions, so putting anxiety and apprehension on the back burner it was time to dissect these numbers into digestible bits. After the lengthy process of lyrics and melodies, listening to the songs now, I can’t imagine them any other way.”

In terms of the lyrical content on “Sympathetic Resonance”, John Arch notes that “the lyrics this time around are more in line with [Arch‘s 2003 solo EP] ‘A Twist Of Fate’ and not of the mystical nature of some past albums.”

ARCH/MATHEOS recording lineup:

* John Arch (FATES WARNING) – Vocals
* Jim Matheos (FATES WARNING, OSI) – Guitar
* Frank Aresti (FATES WARNING) – Additional Lead Guitar



Check the Audioo fragments out over at Blabbermouth