ARCKANUM Announces New Album Details

Swedish black metal project ARCKANUM will release its eighth full-length album, “Fenriz Kindir”, in Europe on May 10 via Season Of Mist.

Commented ARCKANUM mastermind Shamaatae: “This album is a dedication to the flaming giant-wolf, son of Loki; created from the Chaos-fires of Múspellsheimr. It is a tribute to the wrathful giant-wolf, son of Angrboða, found in the Ironwood where he is breeding hordes of giant monstrous wolves with Angrboða. His victorious name is Fenrir, also called Tungls Tjúgari! Hail Fenrir!

“The sounds and music on this album are my auditory vision of the march of Fenrir convoyed with his hordes of giant wolves from the depths of the underworld to face Ragna Rök with warlike glory — deformed giant-wolves swarming in thousands.

“The Old Norse poem ‘Völuspá’ (40-41) says: ‘In the east of the Ironwood (Járnviðr) she the Old One (Angrboða) sat and there bore Fenrir’s Kin (Fenris kindir). One of which became the most worthy of them all, the One taking down the sun/moon with a two-pronged pitchfork (tungls tjúgari), in a troll’s shape. He fills his belly with the corpses of dead men and defiles the houses of gods with blood. The sun’s beams blacken during summers and the weather grows stormy.’ The later prose ‘Gylfaginning’ (51) reveals Fenrir’s flaming Múspell-descent during Ragna Rök: ‘Fenrir shall advance with gaping mouth, and his lower jaw shall be against the earth, but the upper against heaven, he would gape yet more if there were room for it; fires blaze from his eyes and nostrils… The Sons of Múspell shall go forth to that field which is called Vígríðr, thither shall come Fenrir also…’

“This is my tribute to the wrathful, harsh and untamed anti-nature of Fenrir‘s mighty essence! The anti-cosmic enemy of the worlds! Heill Tungls Tjúgari! Heilir Fenris Synir!”

“Fenriz Kindir” track listing:

01. Fenris Kindir Grúa
02. Tungls Tjúgari
03. Dólgrinn
04. Hatarnir
05. Hamrami
06. Fenris Gangr
07. Vargøld
08. Angrboða
09. Úskepna
10. Spell
11. Sólbøls Sigr
12. Lycanthropia (NECROMANTIA cover, bonus track on digital and LP editions)

“Fenriz Kindir” features the following guest appearances:

* “Tungls Tjúgari”: Peter Asp on horns
* “Hatarnir”: Lena Klarström on female vocals; Peter Asp on howling guitars
* “Hamrami”: Ljuder-Stefan Westberg on horns and violins
* “Vargøld”: Olof Lindberg and Peter Asp on chorus and horns
* “Angrboða”: Lena Klarström on female vocals
* “Sólbøls Sigr”: Ljuder-Stefan Westberg on keyed fiddle (nyckelharpa) and violins