ARMS OF THE SUN: Studio Footage Posted Online

ARMS OF THE SUN — the Dallas/Fort Worth, Texas-based band featuring Lance Harvill on vocals and guitar, and Ben Bunker (GRYN) on guitar and John Luke Héberton drums — will release its debut album on July 19.

A two-and-a-half-minute video clip featuring behind-the-scenes footage from the making of the album can be seen below.

Bassist Rex Brown (PANTERA, DOWN) left ARMS OF THE SUN in February over “business and creative” differences. Harvill stated at the time about Rex‘s departure “I love Rex as a friend, but if I say it’s red, he sees it as blue. It doesn’t make either of us right or wrong, but the songs were written long before Rex ever joined this band, so not getting to make executive decisions over certain creative aspects of the band created a problem for me.”

He added, “It’s understandable — you have the rock star in the band who has earned his stripes and carries the attitude to go with it, and you have me as the maniacal writer, who can pretty much go with the flow about many things, but when it comes to the art and how it is made and sold I feel I should have somewhat of a say. We get along great as friends, but like I said before, we share two separate visions for where a band should go.”

Brown previously stated about ARMS OF THE SUN, which he described as “THE BEATLES on acid,” “It’s something that is a real passion for me. Usually when I do a record, I just turn everything off and do something else, but I have been coming back to this music. It’s heartfelt and really good. . . . This is a labor of love for me. It’s some serious songwriting. . . I have that same spark that I had on [PANTERA‘s] ‘Vulgar Display Of Power’. That’s the way I feel about it now. It’s not what’s to be expected out of me. It’s more song-orientated and really good music.”

ARMS OF THE SUN‘s debut album was produced and mixed by Terry Date (DEFTONES, PANTERA, SOUNDGARDEN).

The following songs were laid down during the sessions (among others):

* Coming Up Roses
* Give Me Time
* Behind The Sun
* Falling To Pieces
* Slow
* Something About Today
* Empty
* March Of The Dolls
* Dead Inside
* On Me

ARMS OF THE SUN made its live debut on April 17, 2010 at Lakewood Theater in Dallas, Texas.

For more information, visit