AS YOU DROWN: new single off forthcoming album “Rat King” premie

Starting today, is premiering the track Your Loyal Betrayer from Swedish extreme death metallers AS YOU DROWN’s forthcoming album Rat King (out 10/11 in North America). Check out Your Loyal Betrayer HERE. The successor to the bands 2009 debut Reflection, Rat King was recorded at the bands own AYD Studio in Borås and was mixed and mastered by Plec (WATAIN, SCAR SYMMETRY, MISERATION) at Panic Room Studio in Skövde in July 2011. Lyrically, the album explores the medieval German folk phenomena of rat kings, which were associated with plagues that devastated the European continent.

You can also check out the first single You Should Be Paranoid at the following location:

Rat King track listing:
1. Conqueror
2. Slaves To The Kingdom Of Fear
3. You Should Be Paranoid
4. Rabid Wolves In Sheep’s Clothing
5. Your Loyal Betrayer
6. The Coming
7. The Nothing
8. Bleeding Structure
9. Cleansing Hands

Vocalist Henrik Blomqvist commented on Rat King: “We are delighted to finally be finished with the recording of our second album, entitled Rat King, which will be out in October via Metal Blade. The album – mixed and mastered by Plec at Panic Room Studios – features artwork by Mark Riddick, as well as by Sven de Caluwe of the mighty ABORTED and System Divide, and nine epic songs of skull crushing death metal mayhem and darkness. It feels like we’ve taken everything we do to a whole new level on this one, and we can’t wait to get out on the road and play these songs live. This new material is INTENSE, although at the same time a lot more varied and dynamic than what we’ve done in the past. Keep your eyes and ears open friends. Death! Destruction!! GOATS!”

About the band:
AS YOU DROWN formed in Borås, Sweden in 2003. Inspired by the speed and relentless brutality of contemporary death metal and atmosphere and straightforward structure of the genres’ predecessors. Reflection, the debut album from AS YOU DROWN was recorded at AYD Studio in Borås; mixed and mastered by Christian Silver at Studio Mega in Varberg Sweden (THE CROWN, OLD MAN’S CHILD), and released worldwide via Metal Blade Records in July 2009. Reflection received critical acclaim from underground publications worldwide, with special attention given to the band’s ability to appeal to a broad extreme metal audience. In spring 2010, AS YOU DROWN hit the road with VADER on the Blitzkrieg 5 Europe and UK tour as the direct support artist in addition to appearing at several underground festivals in Europe during the summer of that same year.

Henrik Blomqvist – Vocals
Mikael Åkerström – Guitars
Simon Exner – Guitars
Martin Latvala – Drums
Robert Karlsson – Bass