AUTOPSY: Exclusive Midwest Concert Announced

Legendary San Francisco Bay Area gore grind act AUTOPSY will make its exclusive Midwest appearance — the band’s first show in Chicago since 1993 — on Saturday, March 5 at Reggie’ Rock Club (2105 South State St., Chicago, IL). Also schedule to appear are BONES, the new group featuring former members of USURPER.

For more information, go to this location.

AUTOPSY‘s new collection, “All Tomorrow’s Funerals”, will be released on February 28 via Peaceville Records. This monstrous 22-track effort will contain all of AUTOPSY‘s EPs remastered by the bandmembers themselves, as well as new cuts. Everything from “Retribution For The Dead” to the now-sold-out “The Tomb Within” will be presented on CD and DLP with all original artworks, liner notes from the band and new cover art from renowned artist Matt Cavotta.

Commented the band: “Well, we’ve finished recording a few new tracks for the upcoming collection album, ‘All Tomorrow’s Funerals’, and they came out brutal and heavy as hell. Along with the newly written songs, we did a revamped version of ‘Mauled To Death’, which is the very last of the old songs that needed a proper album quality recording. This album will also contain all four EPs, all of which are out of print, as well as a compilation track from 1991, so the grand total is 22 tracks. It’s something we’ve wanted to do for quite awhile, getting all the loose chunks together in one place rather than having them split up and added on as bonus tracks here and there. Everything has been painstakingly remastered with the band’s guidance and sounds better and more crushing than ever. And don’t worry, we didn’t get carried away and ruin anything! Combine all that with killer new cover art from Matt Cavotta and we’ve got one hell of release in the works.

“We are now working on all new material for the next album, due out late 2012/early 2013 and we can definitely promise more of what you would expect from AUTOPSY. There will be no compromise and no holding back.

“If you want 100% pure death metal brutality, you will certainly get it.”

“Macabre Eternal”, the first full-length album from AUTOPSY since 1995’s “Shitfun”, sold around 600 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at position No. 67 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

“Macabre Eternal” was recorded at Fantasy Studios in Berkeley, California and includes AUTOPSY‘s first 10-plus minute song “Sadistic Gratification”.

AUTOPSY had previously decided to make an official comeback after working together on two songs for the special 20th-anniversary edition of debut album, “Severed Survival”, in late 2008; the band having originally split before the release of its fourth album, “Shitfun”, in 1995. A five-song EP, “The Tomb Within”, came out last September and saw the original trio of Chris Reifert, Danny Coralles and Eric Cutler joined on bass by Joe Trevisano (ex-ABSCESS).