AUTUMN: ‘The Scarecrow’ Video Released

“The Scarecrow”, the new video from the Dutch heavy rock collective AUTUMN, can be viewed below. The track comes off the band’s fifth full-length album, “Cold Comfort”, which was released on November 7 in Europe via Metal Blade Records. According to a press release, the CD “offers a collection of striking songs blended into a diverse and yet surprisingly compact album, one that AUTUMN considers to be their most personal and meaningful to date. While AUTUMN‘s roots remain firmly planted in heavy rock/guitar-oriented soil, their branches are stretching out to more progressive musical genres and alternative approaches to the sound of individual songs.”

Commented guitarist Jens van der Valk: “In terms of sound, we realized there were still leaps to be taken out of our comfort zone and into unthought-of possibilities. As a first step in the right direction, our main focus was on a more open, transparent sound, one through which the often multi-layered nature of our songs would be optimally channeled.”

AUTUMN needed not look far for a man to put at the helm with the right pioneering philosophy for the band to begin taking leaps: Erik-Jan Dodd, AUTUMN‘s live sound engineer since the ‘My New Time’ era, envisioned a more vintage approach for ‘Cold Comfort’. An experiment the band was all too eager to embrace, explains guitarist Mats van der Valk. “If there’s anyone who knows what we’re all about and more importantly: what we could potentially be all about, it’s E-J.”

“Cold Comfort” was released as a limited-first-edition digipak CD including two bonus tracks.

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. The Scarecrow
02. Cold Comfort
03. Black Stars In A Blue Sky
04. Retrospect
05. Alloy
06. End Of Sorrow
07. Naeon
08. Truth Be Told (Exhale)
09. The Venamoured
10. Changes For The Bitter (digipack bonus)
11. The Mute (Inhale) (digipack bonus)


Marjan Welman – Vocals
Jerome Vrielink – Bass
Jan Munnik – Keyboards
Jan Grijpstra – Drums
Mats van der Valk – Guitar, Grunts, Backing Vocals
Jens van der Valk – Guitar, Backing Vocals