AXEWOUND: ‘Cold’ Video Released

“Cold”, the debut video from AXEWOUND — the project featuring Matt Tuck (BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE) on guitar and vocals, Liam Cormier (CANCER BATS) on lead vocals, Mike Kingswood (GLAMOUR OF THE KILL) on guitar, Joe Copcutt (RISE TO REMAIN) on bass, and Jason Bowld (PITCHSHIFTER, KILLING JOKE) on drums — can be seen below. The song comes off the band’s debut album, “Vultures”, which will be released in the U.S. on October 2 via Search And Destroy/The End.

The “Vultures” album was recorded in Cardiff at the start of this year, with regular BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE collaborator Martin “Ginge” Ford engineering the sessions. From the outset, the aim was to work quickly and instinctively. In the event, they recorded 11 songs in 11 frenetic days.

“It was very intense, very demanding but that’s how we wanted it to be,” reasons Tuck. “No pre-writing, no rehearsing… just booking a studio and going in and doing a song a day. We wanted to capture something that happened right there and then.”

Adds Cormier: “The record is great because it’s been made by a bunch of friends who are just enjoying themselves playing together and doing something that’s different to what they normally do.”

According to a press release, “Vultures” is “a terrific debut. It is, as was intended, a thoroughly uncompromising beast: standout songs ‘Burn Alive’ and the title track being driven by venomous riffs, the former in particular echoing the sort of thrilling assault administered by the likes of SLAYER and SEPULTURA in their pomp. Yet Tuck‘s melodic gifts are in ready supply too on hulking tunes like ‘ExoChrist’ and the epic ‘Collide’.”

“Vultures” track listing:

01. Vulture (feat. AVENGED SEVENFOLD’s Synyster Gates)
02. Post Apocalyptic Party
03. Victim
04. Cold
05. Burn Alive
06. Exochrist
07. Collide
08. Destroy
09. Blood Money
10. Church

AXEWOUND made its live debut on May 31 at Tivoli in Utrecht, Holland as the support act for KILLSWITCH ENGAGE.


Matt Tuck (BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE) – Guitar, Vocals
Liam Cormier (CANCER BATS) – Vocals
Mike Kingswood (GLAMOUR OF THE KILL) – Guitar
Joe Copcutt (RISE TO REMAIN) – Bass
Jason Bowld (ex-PITCHSHIFTER) – Drums




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *