BARREN EARTH: ‘The Devil’s Resolve’ Artwork, Track Listing Revealed

Finnish progressive death metallers BARREN EARTH will release their sophomore full-length album, “The Devil’s Resolve”, in North America on March 13 via Peaceville Records. The effort will be made available on CD and vinyl, with artwork provided by notable U.S.-based artist Paul Romano (MASTODON).

Mixed by Dan Swanö (OPETH, KATATONIA) at Unisound in Sweden, “The Devil’s Resolve” continues with all the trademarks one has come to associate with BARREN EARTH: brutal riffs, gloomy growls, majestic melodies, as well as acoustic and progressive passages. But this time the band has delved even deeper, taking this sophomore effort to the extremes through musical landscapes encompassing brutal death metal, doomy vocals, trippy 70’s prog lunacy, pastoral passages and even bagpipes.

“The Devil’s Resolve” track listing:

01. Passing Of The Crimson Shadows
02. The Rains Begin
03. Vintage Warlords
04. As It Is Written
05. The Dead Exiles
06. Oriental Pyre
07. White Field
08. Where All Stories End
09. Martyrs of Devotion (special edition)
10. World in Haze (special edition)


Mikko Kotamäki (SWALLOW THE SUN) – Vocals
Olli-Pekka Laine (ex-AMORPHIS, MANNHAI) – Bass
Kasper Mårtenson (ex-AMORPHIS, BEN GRANFELT BAND) – Keyboards
Janne Perttilä (RYTMIHÄIRIÖ) – Guitar
Marko Tarvonen (MOONSORROW) – Drums
Sami Ylisirniö (KREATOR, WALTARI) – Guitar