Bassist JOHN MOYER Hopes To ‘Repeat’ DISTURBED’s Success With ADRENALINE MOB

Jorge Fretes of Spain’s recently conducted an interview with DISTURBED bassist John Moyer about John‘s involvement with ADRENALINE MOB, the new band featuring Mike Portnoy (DREAM THEATER, AVENGED SEVENFOLD), SYMPHONY X frontman Russell Allen and guitar virtuoso Mike Orlando (SONIC STOMP). You can now listen to the chat in the YouTube clip below. A couple of excerpts from the interview follow.

On the differences between playing with DISTURBED and ADRENALINE MOB:

Moyer: “One of the great things about being in DISTURBED is we had a great run, a great history. We’re a big band — we’re a really big band in the United States, we’re a really big band in Europe, we’re a really big band in Australia. And so, obviously, it’s something that we’ve worked hard for over the last ten years to build and to create this sort of massive thing, and we have fans all over the world. And that’s a beautiful thing. And there’s very few bands anywhere that can say that they’ve been able to achieve that kind of success. Now, on the flipside, ADRENALINE MOB is a brand new band and there’s a certain excitement about that, too. Starting something new and fresh… To me, it’s not always about the destination, it’s about the journey. And that’s the great part about what happened with DISTURBED — the journey, the building it up and seeing it grow, and seeing it become this huge thing. And I hope to repeat that success with ADRENALINE MOB.”

On whether ADRENALINE MOB is a serious band or just a “fun” side project:

Moyer: “I take it very seriously. I’m not just playing for fun; I’m playing to make this band a success. I want this as big and as powerful and I want it to connect with as many possible. I’m not really treating this like a side project. I’m treating this like what I’m doing right now. My main musical aspiration right now is to make ADRENALINE MOB be as big and powerful a band as it can be. With DISTURBED, we’re taking an extended hiatus, and I’m not sure when DISTURBED will be getting back together. So, in the meantime, I’m just staying very creative, I want to stay out there and play — it’s what I do, it’s what I love to do. Whatever project I do, I do one hundred percent. So, to me, this isn’t a side project, this is something that I’m gonna put everything that I have into.”

On whether he thinks there is any validity to the the musical comparisons between DISTURBED and ADRENALINE MOB:

Moyer: “I don’t think so, honestly. It’s funny. I mean, I guess ADRENALINE MOB sounds more like DISTURBED than it does sound like SYMPHONY X, or maybe it sounds more like DISTURBED than DREAM THEATER, but to me, ADRENALINE MOB sounds like the classic new metal, hard rock sound, where you have good songs and good hooks with great singing over it. It’s not progressive, it’s not screamo, hardcore metal or thrash. It’s just that sort of hard rock, metal style with melodic vocals. So I think that there’s a lot of bands out there that you could describe that way — not just DISTURBED. I mean, GODSMACK, FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH, even STONE SOUR or AVENGED SEVENFOLD… I do think that ADRENALINE MOB is definitely in the same genre as DISTURBED, but I don’t think necessarily that we sound like DISTURBED.”

ADRENALINE MOB‘s debut album, “Omertá” will be released in the U.S. on March 13 through the newly formed Elm City Music in conjunction with EMI Label Services and in Europe on March 19 in Europe via Century Media Records. The 11-song effort — which was produced by ADRENALINE MOB and mixed by Jay Ruston, who has previously worked on ANTHRAX‘s “Worship Music” and STEEL PANTHER‘s “Balls Out” — includes a blistering reinterpretation of DURAN DURAN‘s classic “Come Undone” featuring guest vocals by Lzzy Hale of HALESTORM.

“Omertá” track listing:

01. Undaunted
02. Psychosane
03. Indifferent
04. All On The Line
05. Hit The Wall
06. Feelin’ Me
07. Come Undone (feat. Lzzy Hale)
08. Believe Me
09. Down To The Floor
10. Angel Sky
11. Freight Train

Moyer will make his live debut with ADRENALINE MOB on March 12 at Hiro Ballroom in New York City.

ADRENALINE MOB will perform at several European festivals this summer, including Graspop Metal Meeting (June 22-24 in Dessel, Belgium), Gods Of Metal (June 21-24 in Milan, Italy) and Sweden Rock (June 6-9 in Sölvesborg, Sweden).


Photo by Kellie Hoeke



(Thanks: Morpheus Misfit)