BEFORE THE DAWN: ‘Pitch-Black Universe’ Video Released

“Pitch-Black Universe”, the new video from Finnish dark melodic death metal icons BEFORE THE DAWN, can be seen below. The song comes off the band’s new album, “Rise Of The Phoenix”, which will be released on April 27 via Nuclear Blast Records.

Commented directors OneManArmy Productions: “The video was shot in an abandoned garage in probably one of the ugliest towns in Finland (Kouvola) which seems to be made completely out of concrete so the scenery was pretty much ideal. It was very pleasant to work with a band that was cool with playing with real fire instead of relying on digital effects and we managed to cause only one small second-degree burn to the hand of Tuomas — so it all went pretty well!”

After the departure of Lars Eikin (bass/clean vocals) and Atte Palokangas (drums), Finland’s BEFORE THE DAWN experienced a rebirth of sorts. What could formerly be described as dark metal started to flow much more into melodic death metal waters.

Armed with new members Pyry Hanski (bass) and Joonas Kauppinen (drums), BEFORE THE DAWN will surprise you with a totally new, incredibly thrilling listening experience on their seventh studio album.

The perfectly fitting phoenix symbolism was chosen prudently as mainman, vocalist and mastermind Tuomas Saukkonen explains. “Massive changes in the line-up during 2011 ended an era of great frustration and brought back 110% dedication and professionalism into the band,” he says. “The newfound energy and motivation steered us into a victorious European tour and made it possible to produce the strongest, fastest, heaviest and definitely the most epic BEFORE THE DAWN album so far!”

“Rise Of The Phoenix” track listing:

01. Exordium
02. Pitch-Black Universe
03. Phoenix Rising
04. Cross To Bear
05. Throne Of Ice
06. Perfect Storm
07. Fallen World
08. Eclipse
09. Closure

Bonus tracks:

10. Unbreakable (2012 version)
11. Deliverance
12. Reflection (taken from the very first demo, 1999)

“Pitch-Black Universe” video:


Kaaos zine interview:


“Phoenix Rising” video: