BIOHAZARD Pulls Plug On Album-Giveaway Plans

New York hardcore/metal veterans BIOHAZARD have pulled the plug on their previously announced plans to give away their new album, “Reborn In Defiance”, in its entirety “for free” to all fans in the United States starting January 20.

In what what was being billed as “the first such promotion ever launched,” the record was supposed be made available for free download off Revolver magazine’s web site,, as well as through the technology offered by Fans were being encouraged to check into BIOHAZARD “Containment Zones” (record stores, venues, and more) across the United States using the Repudo app on their smart phones and download the new record directly to their phones or send it to their email inbox.

A new message on BIOHAZARD‘s official Facebook page reads as follows:

“We regret to inform you all that due to circumstances beyond our control, we will not be able to offer our new record, ‘Reborn In Defiance’, in the U.S. at this time. We love all of you who have continued to support us through the years and can’t wait to share with you a record that we are extremely proud of. Thank you so much for your understanding and patience and a special thanks to our partners Revolver, Repudo and Google for their hard work setting this up. All of our touring plans are still solidified and we are excited to see you all out on the road!”

“Reborn In Defiance” was released in Europe today (Friday, January 20) via Nuclear Blast Records.

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. 9:IIIX6.941
02. Vengeance Is Mine
03. Decay
04. Reborn
05. Killing Me
06. Countdown Doom
07. Come Alive
08. Vows Of Redemption
09. Waste Away
10. You Were Wrong
11. Skullcrusher
12. Never Give In
13. Season The Sky

“Skullcrusher” can also be streamed using the audio player below.

“It’s literally almost impossible to rely on the music industry to pay your bills,” Billy Graziadeitold Noisecreep. “It’s such a crap shoot to begin with. These days it’s even harder. So for me, I don’t rely on BIOHAZARD to pay my bills, so when we had a chance to go on tour and to reunite… it was on a personal level, it was amazing. And not having to do it as a job or to pay bills is a fucking great place to be. For me, I feel like I came full circle. I do it because I love it. I love to be on stage. It’s kind of similar in a lot of ways — we’re a lot more savvy with what is up now; we’ve been through so many different labels. We get up there, we have a blast. We made a record, we worked really hard to make a record we’re all really proud of and we’re doing it for the love of it. The industry is not the same as when we started. . . At the end of the day, most of this record will be given away but it’s a different era and for us. You gotta love what you do, otherwise it’s not worth it.”

“Skullcrusher” audio stream:


Not only is “Reborn In Defiance” BIOHAZARD‘s first original lineup album in 18 years, but it also marks the last album recorded by the band before the departure of bassist and co-vocalist Evan Seinfeld. The effort remains a testament to the four founding members (Billy Graziadei, Bobby Hambel, Evan Seinfeld and Danny Schuler) and their unique chemistry.

Having last recorded and toured as the fundamental lineup with the release of “State Of The World Address” back in 1994, BIOHAZARD reformed with all four original members back in 2008 to commemorate the band’s 20th anniversary. They went back out on the road together over the next two years, during which time inspiration struck.

The legendary Toby Wright (ALICE IN CHAINS, METALLICA, SEVENDUST, KORN) was brought in to produce the 13-track “Reborn In Defiance”, which was recorded in Los Angeles.