BLACK ‘N BLUE Frontman Interviewed On ‘Inside Heavy’ (Audio)

“Inside Heavy” recently conducted an interview with vocalist Jaime St. James of Portland-based rockers BLACK ‘N BLUE. You can now listen to the chat in the YouTube clip below.

Frontiers Records released the new album from BLACK ‘N BLUE on May 13 in Europe and May 17 in North America.

“Hell Yeah!” is a proud comeback statement for a band that wrote the pages of hard rock history in the ’80s. BLACK ‘N BLUE released four successful and critically acclaimed albums through Geffen Records: their self-titled debut (1984), “Without Love” (1985), “Nasty Nasty” (1986), and “In Heat” (1987), with the latter two albums produced by the legendary Gene Simmons of KISS. Catalogue sales in the U.S. were in excess of one million units and the band’s original guitar player Tommy Thayer went on to replace Ace Frehley in the current KISS lineup.

BLACK ‘N BLUE reunited for the first time in 2003 under the initiative of singer Jaime St. James, when he began writing tracks for a new album along with original member, Jef “Woop” Warner. The process came to a halt when St. James joined WARRANT as their new lead vocalist in February of 2004. In recent years, Jaime has been releasing records and touring the world with WARRANT.

In late 2008, plans to get back into the studio and finish the “Hell Yeah!” album were underway, as well as festival appearances and other touring. “The band’s lineup is all original except Shawn Sonnenschein,” says St. James, “but he has been in the band now for about eight years. Still the new guy….Jeez!”

“Hell Yeah!” goes back to the roots of the “classic” BLACK ‘N BLUE sound, mixing tight and hard-rocking songs with a sleazy attitude. “This new album is a real thrill for us and all of the BLACK ‘N BLUE fans,” says St. James. “Our last studio recording was in 1988 so it’s a big deal. This is a classic BLACK ‘N BLUE-sounding CD and could be described as a cross between all our previous records. It is heavy for the most part, but I like to think it reminds me of our first album. That’s why we brought back the original logo. We just modernized it.”

“Hell Yeah!” track listing:

01. Monkey
02. Target
03. Hail Hail
04. Fool’s Bleed
05. C’mon
06. Jaime’s Got The Beer
07. Angry Drunk Son Of A Bitch
08. So Long
09. Trippin’
10. Falling Down
11. Candy
12. Hell Yeah!
13. World Goes Round



Jaime St. James – Vocals
Jef “Woop” Warner – Guitar
Patrick Young – Bass
Pete Holmes – Drums
Shawn Sonnenschein – Guitar