Former BLACK SABBATH Singer TONY MARTIN Re-Teams With DARIO MOLLO For ‘The Third Cage’

Frontiers Records has set a January 24, 2012 North American release date (four days earlier in Europe) for the long-awaited new MOLLO/MARTIN album, entitled “The Third Cage”.

Dario Mollo and Tony Martin first got together when the Italian guitar player/produced and composer needed the right singer after the put together a new set of songs in the late ’90s. The former BLACK SABBATH frontman’s involvement came about on a suggestion from producer Kit Woolven (UFO, THIN LIZZY) with whom Mollo had been working during his CROSSBONES years. Martin wrote lyrics and melodies for the amazing tracks that Dario had already assembled, and thus THE CAGE was born.

THE CAGE‘s first album, released independently in 1999, gained a great success among the hard rock fans and the critics and Dario started finally to make himself a reputation over the international markets. This debut was later followed by an equally acclaimed second album in 2002.

Mollo has been very busy since then, releasing one more album with the VOODOO HILL project with Glenn Hughes. He then toured Europe with Graham Bonnet and Don Airey. After Don became a permanent DEEP PURPLE member, Dario and Graham Bonnet formed ELEKTRIC ZOO, touring Europe again, performing songs from RAINBOW, ALCATRAZZ, VOODOO HILL and THE CAGE. In 2008 Dario released an album with the more alt-rock Italian band NOIZE MACHINE, before getting again to work on a new set of hard-rocking songs for a new record with Martin.

“As usual, we are 50/50 partners,” explains Mollo. “I write all the music and Tony then contributes with the melodies and lyrics. We also try together different structures of the tracks and we rearrange them to better fit the vocal parts. Then I go ahead and take care of the entire production of the album, tracking, mixing and mastering.”

The songwriting, the sound and the video production of this new project are absolutely stunning and show the great skills that Mollo has developed in the past few years. All hard rock lovers should simply not miss this record which bravely melts several influences in a cutting edge release. “There are much better songs, performances and production on this album, plus we will finally bring this project live out there: we have a lot of great songs to perform to our loyal fans, we look forward to meet them,” concludes Mollo.

“The Third Cage” track listing:

01. Wicked World
02. Cirque Du Freak
03. Oh My Soul
04. One Of The Few
05. Still In Love With You
06. Can’t Stay Here
07. Wardance
08. Don’t Know What It Is About You
09. Blind Fury
10. Violet Moon
11. Wicked World (videoclip)

“Oh My Soul” audio sample:


“One Of The Few” audio sample:


“Wardance” audio sample:


The first video, “Wicked World”, can be viewed below.

“The Third Cage” recording lineup:

Dario Mollo – Guitar, Bass, Keyboards
Tony Martin – Vocals
Roberto Gualdi – Drums
Fulvio Gaslini – Bass
Dario Patti/Brian War – Keyboards