BLACKMORE’S NIGHT: Complete ‘A Knight In York’ Details Revealed

When BLACKMORE’S NIGHT rolled in to York, England, on September 30, 2011, the heat scorched the medieval streets and the sunlight bathed the old city walls. Inside the Grand Opera House, Ritchie Blackmore, Candice Night and their band of minstrels were generating their own heat as they took their devoted audience on a musical journey through the ages with songs from their two new albums, “Secret Voyage” and “Autumn Sky”, such as “Locked Within The Crystal Ball”, “Darkness” plus a new interpretation of “First Of May” — a rarely played ballad, originally done by the BEE GEES, and an additional smattering of songs from earlier albums, most notably the classic “Fires At Midnight”.

The third BLACKMORE’S NIGHT DVD release, “A Knight In York”, captures all the magic of this stunning BLACKMORE’S NIGHT show.

The Band:

* Candice Night: Lead vocals, Renaissance wood winds, pennywhistles and tambourine
* Ritchie Blackmore: Electric and acoustic guitars, mandolin, mandola, hurdy – gurdy
* Earl Grey of Chimay: Bass, rhythm guitar
* Bard David of Larchmont: Keyboards and vocals
* Squire Malcolm of Lumley: drums and percussion
* Gypsy Rose: Violin and harmony vocals
* Minstrel Albert: Various medieval woodwinds
* Autumn: Special Guest


* DVD + CD Digipack (CD rack size) – UDR0200 DVD+CD
* DVD (Amaray) – UDR 0203DVD
* CD (Jewel Case) – UDR 0204CD
* Double Vinyl LP 12“ (Gatefold) – UDR 0205LP
* Blu-Ray – UDR 0206BR
* Digital (audio) – UDR 0207
* Digital (video) – UDR 0208
* D2C – UDR 0209BOX

“A Knight In York” track listing:

01. Locked Within The Crystal Ball
02. Gilded Cage
03. The Circle
04. Journeyman
05. World Of Stone
06. The Peasant‘s Promise
07. Toast To Tomorrow
08. Fires At Midnight
09. Barbara Allen
10. Darkness
11. Dance Of The Darkness
12. Dandelion Wine
13. All The Fun Of The Fayre
14. First Of May

BLACKMORE’S NIGHT‘s latest album, “Autumn Sky”, came out in 2010.

In addition to being known for its unique sound combining traditional instruments, guitars and Candice‘s enchanting lyrics and vocals, BLACKMORE’S NIGHT is also known for its fabulous live shows, many of which have been performed at castles and other exceptional venues that add to the mystique and warmth of its performance.

Recorded during Candice‘s pregnancy, Candice and Ritchie dedicated the “Autumn Sky” album to their daughter Autumn Esmerelda Blackmore.

Ritchie, 67, and Candice, 41, were married on October 5, 2008 at a small gathering of friends and family at Castle on the Hudson in Tarrytown, New York.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *