BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE: ‘Temper Temper’ Track-By-Track Breakdown Part 1

Welsh metallers BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE will release thier fourth studio album, “Temper Temper”, on February 12. The LP will be available in both standard and deluxe editions on RCA Records.

A video breakdown of the first four tracks (“Breaking Point”, “Truth Hurts”, “Temper Temper” and “P.O.W.”) from the album can be seen below.

“Temper Temper” was once again produced by Don Gilmore (LINKIN PARK, GOOD CHARLOTTE), who worked on the group’s last LP, 2010’s “Fever”, and was mixed by noted engineer Chris Lord-Alge (DEFTONES, NICKELBACK, AVENGED SEVENFOLD).

Speaking to Cameron Edney of Australia’s Scene magazine, BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE frontman Matt Tuck stated about the lyrical themes covered on the new CD: “‘Temper Temper’ is about losing touch with each other and losing touch with reality in the band, taking things for granted.

“There was a part of the last touring cycle where, for the first time in the 20 years that we’ve known each other, we started to dislike each other a little bit and weren’t hanging out together. That’s why the album is called ‘Temper Temper’. That’s why a lot of the songs are called what they are, and the lyrical content reflects those times. This album is the most personal album I’ve ever written. It was a weird time for us.”

As personal as the album is, there are some songs Tuck connects with more than others. “‘Breaking Point’ is an important one; it’s the first one we wrote for the album,” he said. “I think the first song you write is the most important ’cause it really sets the tone for where the album is going. Lyrically, I think ‘Living Life (On The Edge Of A Knife)’ and ‘Truth Hurts’ are the most personal. They are delving into the darker side of being in BULLET, the rough times… drinking too much, experimenting with drugs, being a bit too rock ‘n’ roll. It’s letting people know that it is an amazing lifestyle, but at times it can be a dark, lonely place, especially if you’re not enjoying yourself. It’s a shitty place to be when things get tough.”

“Temper Temper” track listing:

01. Breaking Point
02. Truth Hurts
03. Temper Temper
04. P.O.W.
05. Dirty Little Secret
06. Leech
07. Dead To The World
08. Riot
09. Saints n Sinners
10. Tears Don’t Fall (Part 2)
11. Livin Life (On The Edge of A Knife)

Deluxe-edition bonus tracks:

12. Not Invincible
13. Whole Lotta Rosie (from the “Live Lounge” show on BBC Radio 1)
14. Scream Aim Fire (from the “Live Lounge” show on BBC Radio)

The “Temper Temper” title track was released on November 25 across all digital providers.

BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE‘s video for the song “Riot” can be seen below. The clip was filmed in November in New York City with renowned director P.R. Brown, who has previously worked with such artists as MY CHEMICAL ROMANCE, John Mayer, Alicia Keys, Carrie Underwood, Prince, AUDIOSLAVE, MÖTLEY CRÜE and SIXX: A.M.

BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE will embark on a U.K. tour in March. Support on all dates will come from HALESTORM.

“Temper Temper” track by track – part 1:


“Riot” video:




One thought on “BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE: ‘Temper Temper’ Track-By-Track Breakdown Part 1

  • February 4, 2013 at 11:26 pm

    Just listened to the album, and I must say, IT ROCKS! Go Bullet…


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *