BYZANTINE: Vocal And Rhythm Guitar Playthrough Video

Video footage of vocalist and rhythm guitarist Chris Ojeda of reunited West Virginia metallers BYZANTINE performing two songs from the band’s fourth, self-titled album can be seen below.

“Byzantine” will be released on February 26 through Gravedancer Records, the new label formed by MuseBox VP of marketing, Josh Eldridge, in partnership with marketing company MuseBox.

“Byzantine” track listing:

01. Which Light Shall Never Penetrate
02. Soul Eraser
03. Efficacy
04. Forged In The Heart Of A Dying Star
05. Caldera
06. Signal Path
07. Everything I Touch Bursts Into Flame
08. Posthumous
09. Pathogen

The lyrical content of “Signal Path” is based on the unexpected massive heart attack that BYZANTINE‘s lead guitarist and founding member, Tony Rohrbough, experienced almost three years ago. Thankfully, he is onto a full recovery and back with the band.

Commented BYZANTINE guitarist/vocalist Chris “OJ” Ojeda: “To have a fourth BYZANTINE album recorded is a feat that none of us band members thought we could pull off. With families, new careers and living apart from each other and a five-year hiatus, we thought getting together and writing a new album would be impossible, but it came along famously. We truly are in our element tucked in the hills of West Virginia grinding out new tunes for the few select fans we have. It’s been an honor to give you guys nine new songs to dig on!”

The “Byzantine” cover artwork was designed by David Friedmann, the winner of the contest the band launched on MetalSucks earlier this year. Check it out below.

BYZANTINE was first discovered by LAMB OF GOD and released three highly respected albums and completed several major tours before calling in quits in 2008, just after the release of their most respected effort, “Oblivion Beckons”. Earlier this spring, the band entered the studio to begin work on the new CD featuring the following lineup:

Chris Ojeda: Vocals, Rhythm Guitar
Tony Rohrbough: Lead Guitar
Michael Cromer: Bass
Matt Wolfe: Drums


“Soul Eraser” video:




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *