CONFESSOR: Tonight’s Hometown Concert To Be Webcast

Acclaimed Raleigh, North Carolina-based progressive doom metal band CONFESSOR is hoping to stream its hometown show tonight (Friday, May 18) live from the Lincoln Theatre between 11 p.m. and 11:30 p.m. EST.

Says the band: “[The webcast] is being set up on short notice so we are hoping that everything falls into place for the fans! The address to stream is”

“Uncontrolled”, a compilation of all three demo taptes from CONFESSOR, was relased on May 8 via Divebomb Records.

CONFESSOR made a name for itself by writing unapologetically heavy riffs, with a unique flare for timing changes. The band had created quite a stir by playing all over the Southeast and landing two tours in Europe, including the now legendary “Gods of Grind” tour with CARCASS and ENTOMBED. With the release of their debut album, “Condemned”, the band felt as though their chance was at hand to show the world what they knew, that CONFESSOR was unlike anything else out at the time. Unfortunately, label merging and politics forced CONFESSOR off of the U.S. leg of that famous tour in favor of the latest “new band.” CONFESSOR‘s struggles with their label led to lineup changes that seriously altered the band’s trajectory and eventually they disbanded after only a single album was released. Luckily, over the years CONFESSOR‘s controversial-yet-pioneering sound became accepted and adored by many in the metal community and in 2004 the band reunited for some festival appearances. They have reunited once again for a special appearance at the Maryland Deathfest in 2012.

“Uncontrolled” is the first time all three CONFESSOR demo tapes have been released officially. These are the demos that helped the band get signed to Earache Records back in 1990 and led to the eventual release of “Condemned”.
For the diehards, Divebomb has unearthed raw archival live footage as part of both an enhanced CD and bonus DVD. Jeff Wagner, author of “Mean Deviation: Four Decades Of Progressive Metal”, has also contributed a brand new essay to the liners.

The demos themselves were converted from original reels and/or DAT by The Kitchen Mastering in 2004. Jamie King remastered the entire set in 2012 at his Basement Studios.

“Uncontrolled” track listing:

01. Collapse Into Despair
02. Alone
03. Condemned
04. Uncontrolled
05. Prepare Yourself
06. Suffer
07. The Secret
08. Deception
09. Eve Of Salvation
10. Uncontrolled (“Vile Vibes” version)
11. The Secret (“Metal Massacre X” version)

“Die-Hard” Bonus Tracks

12. Words Of Praise (Live at Fame City)
13. Addictive Bind (Live In Raleigh)

“The Secret” is now available for streaming using the SoundCloud player below.

CONFESSOR released its latest full-length album, “Unraveled”, in 2005 via Season of Mist. The CD was produced by Dick Hodgin (ex-CORROSION OF CONFORMITY producer) and is “a wonderful representation of the classic CONFESSOR twisted guitar riffing and complex drumming, meshed with some more straightforward parts and a toned down and very melodic vocal approach,” according to Jeffreys.

CONFESSOR split up in the early ’90s after releasing one full-length album (1991’s “Condemned”) and EP (1992’s “Confessor”), with the with the rhythm section going on to form FLY MACHINE. CONFESSOR reformed in 2002 following the death of guitarist Ivan Colon, who passed away due to cardiac complications.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *