CREST OF DARKNESS: New Album Release Date Announced

Norwegian black metallers CREST OF DARKNESS will release their sixth album, “In The Presence Of Death”, on February 11, 2013 via My Kingdom Music. The ten-track CD promises to be the most complete, extreme and dark album the band has ever recorded.

CREST OF DARKNESS recently announced a change in lineup that saw the departure of Kjell Arne Hubred after seven years with the band, and the arrival of DJEVELKULT guitarist Jan Fredrik Solheim to replace him.

“It’s sad to be saying goodbye to Kjell Arne after all this time,” said founder and frontman Ingar Amlien, “but he has a young family and with CREST OF DARKNESS intending to work harder than ever, it was too difficult for him to devote the amount of time to the band that would be needed, and that’s something we understand. We’ve been very lucky in finding Jan Fredrik to replace him. He’s young, talented, highly motivated and has plenty of ambition. We’ve rehearsed with him several times and it was obvious that he knew CREST OF DARKNESS‘ music long before he joined us. With the release of our new album imminent, he has brought a renewed sense of enthusiasm and purpose to the band, and as far as I’m concerned we’re sounding better and stronger than ever.”

Formed in the mid-Nineties by Amlien, CREST OF DARKNESS is a totally different beast from his former band CONCEPTION, which at that time was at the peak of its popularity. Whilst CONCEPTION tended towards the progressive side of power metal, CREST OF DARKNESS allowed Amlien to indulge his passion for sonic brutality and his interest in vampirism and Satanic ideology, both of which are reflected in the band’s lyrics.

Aside from Amlien on bass and vocals and Solheim on guitar, CREST OF DARKNESS‘current lineup includes Rebo on guitars and Kjetil Hektoen on drums.