Dan Swanö (EDGE OF SANITY, BLOODBATH) is one of three musicians who have recorded special guest appearances on “Icarus”, the new album from German thrashers DEW-SCENTED. Schneider contributed guest vocals to the song “Reawakening”.

Commented Dan: “After touring with them, mixing with them, it was about goddamned time that I also sang a nice tune with them. The interplay between mine and Leif‘s [Jensen, DEW-SCENTED frontman] vocals worked out perfectly. Like a duet between Satan and the Devil.”

Added DEW-SCENTED: “Dan has been a longterm buddy and true inspiration for DEW-SCENTED and it’s almost like a closing circle to have him involved with ‘Icarus’. Dan and Leif first met him on the debut EDGE OF SANITY tour with ASSORTED HEAP in 1992 and then DEW-SCENTED toured with EDGE OF SANITY in 1996, where, funnily enough, Marvin also already appeared as the band’s lead guitarist. Consequently, Dan went on to help DEW-SCENTED by mixing 1998’s ‘Innoscent’ album and Leif has ever since always wanted to do vocal or production work with Dan on some level again. Having Dan do his trademark deep grunts as duet vocals with Leif on the song ‘Reawakening’ is a big honor and personal satisfaction for us.”

As previously reported, Rob Urbinati of Canadian thrash metal veterans SACRIFICE contributed guest vocals to the song “Gleaming Like Silver” while RETALIATION/FINAL BREATH guitarist Dennis Schneider can be heard on the songs “The Fall Of Man” and “Perpetuated”.

“Icarus” will be released on July 31 in North America via Prosthetic Records (one day earlier internationally through Metal Blade Records).

DEW-SCENTED vocalist Leif Jensen previously described the “Icarus” main theme as “a modern-times, very apocalyptic adaption of elements of the Icarus myth, using a lot of its symbolism while interlinking with several other personal or observant subjects in true DEW-SCENTED fashion.” While the album — recorded at Soundlodge Studio and produced by Jörg Uken (NIGHTFALL, SUICIDAL ANGELS, GOD DETHRONED) — is not quite a concept album per se, Jensen said “Icarus” “has a pretty coherent lyrical flow, and that helps to enhance and also to intentionally enlarge the atmosphere and vibe created by the music.” The “Icarus” cover artwork was once created by Björn Goosses of Killustrations.

DEW-SCENTED‘s new lineup is as follows (pictured from left to right in photo below):

Rory Hansen – Guitar
Marvin Vriesde – Guitar
Leif Jensen – Vocals
Joost van der Graaf – Bass
Koen Herfst – Drums

The new DEW-SCENTED lineup will play its first shows on July 20 at Metalsplash festival and July 21 at Queens Of Metal festival.



Photo by Ester Segarra