DEAD SHAPE FIGURE Begins Recording New Album

Finnish metallers DEAD SHAPE FIGURE have entered D-Studio in Nurmijärvi, Finland to begin recording their third album with producer Alexandre Locher (also known as Xytras or Xy) of Swiss industrial black metallers SAMAEL.

Commented DEAD SHAPE FIGURE: “This is the first time ever DEAD SHAPE FIGURE has used a real producer and done a proper pre-production. It is a fact you can really hear when the album is ready.

“We are super-psyched about Mr. Xy‘s dedication for these new songs.

“The pre-production-stage took a week, 12 hours a day. That period with Mr. Xy was mentally really interesting yet challenging. He made us push ourselves as a band further and deeper than we would normally go. Xy made us act as a band and not as a mob.”

While recording the new album, DEAD SHAPE FIGURE will make select festival appearances during the summer. The band states, “We were not supposed to play any shows before the release of the next album but we got offered a few summer shows, so we thought why not?”

It’s been years since Xy produced an album for another band; it started with MISERY‘s “Mystic” CD in 1993; he would later produce two albums for Greek death/black metal veterans ROTTING CHRIST (1997’s “A Dead Poem” and 1999’s “Sleep Of The Angel”) as well as the first two LPs from Germany’s MY INSANITY.

A short video clip of Xy in the studio with DEAD SHAPE FIGURE can be seen below.

DEAD SHAPE FIGURE‘s mini-CD, “Dev!lle Ride”, was released via Dynamic Arts Records.

The track listing for the effort is as follows:

01. Strangle The Hero
02. And They Adore The Replacement
03. Leave Your Buildings
04. Dead Again

Guitarist Kride Lahti left DEAD SHAPE FIGURE last year “due to personal reasons and lack of motivation.” He has since been replaced by Silver Ots (THE NIBIRUAN, ex-AMORAL).

DEAD SHAPE FIGURE‘s second full-length album, “The Disease Of St. Vitus”, was released in October 2010 via Dynamic Arts Records. The CD was mastered at Virtalähde Analog Audio Studios in Helsinki, Finland.

The band’s debut album, “The Grand Karoshi”, came out in 2008 via Season Of Mist. The CD’s lyrical content was translated by Kallio into Finnish as a book of poetry, entitled “Loppusäkeet”.