DEATH: ‘Spiritual Healing’ Deluxe Reissue Due In November

The next chapter in Relapse‘s DEATH reissue campaign is the landmark, genre-defining album “Spiritual Healing”.

Originally released in 1990, “Spiritual Healing” marked a new turn in the DEATH discography, one which ushered in cleaner production, a new level of boundary pushing musicianship and songwriting skills that were previously unimaginable from a metal band. “Spiritual Healing” sets the standard for riffs, insane time changes and of course mainman Chuck Schuldiner‘s masterful guitar solos. Now reissued as a double CD housed in super deluxe packaging featuring brand new liner notes from DEATH players James Murphy and Terry Butler, Chuck‘s sister Beth Schuldiner and VOLBEAT frontman Michael Poulsen, Disc 1 features a completely new remaster of the original album and Disc 2 contains 16 previously unreleased rehearsal, outtakes and studio instrumentals.

In addition to the 2-disc edition, limited-edition (2000 machine-numbered copies) triple CD digipak will be available exclusively from The third CD features a never-before-released live set recorded in 1990 featuring the “Spiritual Healing” DEATH lineup. An iTunes deluxe edition will also be released containing five additional previously unreleased pre-“Human” rehearsal tracks not available on either of the CD versions.

“Spiritual Healing” will be released on November 20 in North America, November 23 in Benelux, Germany and Finland, and November 26 in the rest of the world.

“Spiritual Healing” follows the recent Relapse Records reissues of DEATH classics “Individual Thought Patterns”, “The Sound of Perseverance”, “Human” and the live collection “Vivus!” plus Chuck Schuldiner projects MANTAS and CONTROL DENIED. Like those reissues, this collection will contain extensive liner notes from previous members and never-before-seen photos of the band.

Pre-order options, including a new line of exclusive DEATH merch and a super limited die-hard fan pack containing an exclusive shirt design, poster flag, and patch, pin, guitar pick, sticker set can be found at this location.

“Spiritual Healing” track listing:

Disc 1 – “Spiritual Healing” – Remastered

01. Living Monstrosity
02. Altering The Future
03. Defensive Personalities
04. Within The Mind
05. Spiritual Healing
06. Low Life
07. Genetic Reconstruction
08. Killing Spree

Disc 2 – “Spiritual Healing” – Rehearsals

* Altering The Future
* Defensive Personalities
* Within The Mind
* Within The Mind – Take 2
* Spiritual Healing
* Killing Spree

Spiritual Healing – Studio Instrumentals

* Defensive Personalities
* Spiritual Healing
* Within The Mind

Joke / Jam Tracks

* Satanic Jam
* Primus Jam
* Jon a Qua – Take 2
* Jon a Qua – Take 3
* Jon a Qua – Take 4
* Jon a Qua – Take 5
* Jon a Qua – Take 6

Disc 3 – Live at Streets, New Rochelle, NY March 17, 1990

* Living Monstrosity
* Pull The Plug
* Zombie Ritual
* Spiritual Healing
* Left To Die
* Defensive Personalities
* Genetic Reconstruction
* Open Casket
* Within The Mind
* Leprosy

Unearthed Pre-“Human” Rehearsals

* Suicide Machine
* Together As One
* See Through Dreams

Digital Deluxe ONLY Bonus Tracks:

* Suicide Machine – Unearthed Version 2
* Suicide Machine – Unearthed Version 3
* Suicide Machine – Unearthed Version 4
* Together As One – Unearthed Version 1
* See Through Dreams – Unearthed Version 2

A remastered version of the track “Living Monstrosity” can be heard below.