DEF LEPPARD Guitarist’s MANRAZE Schedules U.S. Live Debut

MANRAZE — the rock outfit featuring Phil Collen of DEF LEPPARD, Simon Laffy from GIRL and Paul Cook of THE SEX PISTOLS — will make its U.S. live debut on July 31 at The Roxy Theatre in West Hollywood, California.

For more information, go to this location.

Like a mixture of dangerous chemicals, equal parts guitarist extraordinaire, rudeboy rock drummer, and the righteous rhythms of a badass bass player and all together you have one hell of an explosive combination. Add to this concoction the experience of selling 75 million records and the attitude that comes from being at the top of your game and you’ve got MANRAZE. This London-based alternative/nuwave rock band was formed by iconic lead guitarist Phil Collen of DEF LEPPARD. The band members include punk rock forerunner Paul Cook of the SEX PISTOLS on drums and Simon Laffy, rockin’ bass player of Collen‘s former glam-band, GIRL. The long awaited and highly anticipated sophomore album for these revolutionaries of rock, titled “punkfunkrootsrock”, will be unleashed upon the masses on August 2 through Rocket Science Ventures in the U.S. and Canada. The album will also be released July 27 in Japan on Nippon/Columbia and in the Europe via Edel Music.

Prior to the album’s summer release, the first single, “Over My Dead Body”, was made available via iTunes. “Over My Dead Body” is a hard-hitting track combining a mixture of fiery THE ROLLING STONES‘ foot-stomping rhythms and SEX PISTOLS‘ over-the-top energetic drum beats.

For fans that pre-order the album, an acoustic version of the track will be offered as a free download. The remainder of the album’s twelve tracks feature many diverse genres including rock, soul and reggae dub, a perfect blend of influences each band member brings to the mix.

It all started in 2004 when Phil Collen, after 20-plus years as lead guitarist for DEF LEPPARD, decided to express himself via another creative outlet — something a bit closer to his musical home. After a chance meeting on the street with Paul Cook, MANRAZE finally released their debut album, “Surreal”, through Universal Records in the summer of 2008 to rave reviews. The group’s debut album was chocked full of rebellious in-your-face mantras (“Turn it Up”, “This Is”, “Running Me Up”) ranging from hardcore punk to dub. Seen as a cross between the FOO FIGHTERS, GREEN DAY, NIRVANA, RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE and THE POLICE, MANRAZE is a response to the ever changing climate of multi-faceted music and should be heralded for far more than just being a ‘rock band’.

In the spring of 2011 the band’s single “I Superbiker” was the theme song for the feature documentary of the same name. Directed by MANRAZE music video director Mark Sloper, the film was released solely in the U.K. The documentary is an in-depth expose’ into the merciless world of competitive speed bike racing and a look at the men who have dedicated their entire existence to this incredibly dangerous, adrenaline based sport. Mark Sloper‘s camera follows four superbike riders through their dramatic, life-altering Superbike season. MANRAZE also released a promotional video for the song and film.

“punkfunkrootsrock” track listing:

01. Over My Dead Body
02. I C U In Everything
03. All I Wanna Do
04. Closer To Me
05. Lies
06. Get Action
07. Edge Of The World
08. Dreamland
09. Fire
10. I, Superbiker
11. Bittersweet
12. Dogbite (instrumental)

To listen to the first single, “Over My Dead Body”, go to this location.