DEFTONES Members Talk ‘Koi No Yokan’ Album In New Video Interview

DEFTONES frontman Chino Moreno and bassist Sergio Vega recently sat down with for a discussion on the band’s seventh album, “Koi No Yokan”, as well as to answer some pressing questions fans have had for a while now. Check out the chat in two parts below.

DEFTONES have released a new song called “Leathers” at the band’s official web site as a limited-time free download. The track is taken from “Koi No Yokan”, which comes out on November 13 and follows up 2010’s “Diamond Eyes”. The first official single from the set, called “Tempest”, will be sent to radio stations in early October.

The new disc is the second recorded with Vega filling in for Chi Cheng, who remains in a semi-comatose state as a result of a November 2008 car accident. Moreno told The Pulse Of Radio that Vega stepped up as a songwriter on “Koi No Yokan”. “This is our second time writing with him, so… obviously the ‘Diamond Eyes’ record was the first thing, but even that, I still feel like, you know, he was, that was his first kind of part of being in the band and although he wrote a lot on that record and did a great job, I think he really came out of his shell a lot more in this writing process.”

The album’s title is a Japanese term that, while not directly translatable to English, essentially means “love at first sight.”

“Koi No Yokan” track listing:

01. Poltergeist
02. Romantic Dreams
03. Leathers
04. Swerve City
05. Entombed
06. Graphic Nature
07. Tempest
08. Gauze
09. Rosemary
10. Goon Squad
11. What Happened To You?

DEFTONES will support the new CD with a nationwide headlining tour which kicks off on October 9 in Ventura, California.

Interview part 1:


Interview part 2:




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *