DIMMU BORGIR To Tour South America, Mexico In February/March

Norwegian symphonic black metallers DIMMU BORGIR will embark on a tour of South America and Mexico in February/March 2012.

The dates are as follows (venue details to be announced):

Feb. 19 – Mexico City, Mexico
Feb. 21 – San Salvador, El Salvador
Feb. 23 – San Jose, Costa Rica
Feb. 25 – Caracas, Venezuela
Feb. 27 – Bogota, Colombia
Feb. 29 – Antofagasta, Chile
Mar. 02 – Santiago, Chile
Mar. 06 – Buenos Aires, Argentina
Mar. 08 – Sao Paulo, Brazil

DIMMU BORGIR kicked off its “An Evening With Dimmu Borgir” last Friday night (November 11) at the Patronaat in Haarlem, The Netherlands. The band perfomed its epic 1997 release, “Enthrone Darkness Triumphant”, in its entirety during the first set, while the second set consisted of a number of DIMMU BORGIR classics.

High-quality photos from the show can be found at Metal-Experience.com.

DIMMU BORGIR‘s setlist was as follows:

First Set

01. Mourning Palace
02. Spellbound (By The Devil)
03. In Death’s Embrace
04. Relinquishment Of Spirit And Flesh
05. The Night Masquerade
06. Tormentor Of Christian Souls
07. Entrance
08. Master Of Disharmony
09. Prudence’s Fall
10. A Succubus In Rapture
11. Raabjørn Speiler Draugheimens Skodde

Second Set

12. Vredesbyrd
13. Kings Of The Carnival Creation
14. Dimmu Borgir
15. Ritualist
16. Gateways
17. Puritania
18. The Serpentine Offering
19. Progenies Of The Great Apocalypse

Fan-filmed video footage can be seen below.

DIMMU BORGIR‘s most recent touring lineup included Geir Bratland (APOPTYGMA BERZERK, THE KOVENANT) on keyboards and Terje Andersen (a.k.a. Cyrus; SUSPERIA) on bass.

“Abrahadabra”, the ninth album from DIMMU BORGIR, sold 9,400 copies in the United States in its first week of release to land at position No. 42 on The Billboard 200 chart. The band’s previous CD, “In Sorte Diaboli”, opened with 14,000 units back in May 2007 to debut at No. 43. This was more than double the 6,400 first-week tally achieved by its predecessor, “Death Cult Armageddon”, which came out in September 2003 and landed at position No. 169 on The Billboard 200 chart.

The word “abrahadabra” (which roughly translates into “I will create as I speak”) first publicly appeared in Chapter III of “Liber AL vel Legis” (commonly referred to as “The Book Of The Law”) written by Aleister Crowley in Cairo, Egypt in 1904.

“Abrahadabra” was released in Germany on September 24, 2010, in the rest of Europe on September 27, 2010, and it was made available in North America on October 12, 2010 via Nuclear Blast Records.