DIRGE WITHIN: New Video Interview With SHAUN GLASS

Metal Mark of SkullsNBones.com conducted an interview with DIRGE WITHIN guitarist Shaun Glass when the band opened for KITTIEon September 4, 2011 at the Masquerade in Atlanta, Georgia. You can now watch the chat below.

DIRGE WITHIN‘s new digital EP, “Absolution”, was made available on August 16. The three-song effort gives fans a taste of what’s to come from the band’s forthcoming sophomore album, due out in early 2012.

According to a press release, “Absolution” “showcases what fans of DIRGE WITHIN have grown familiar with — powerful grooves, strong hooks and punishing guitar riffs the band has built its sound around. ‘Absolution’ and ‘Prey’ bring a sound that fans are familiar with, while showing progression overall in their sound and songwriting; ‘All Light Fades’ takes their sound up a few notches in intensity and edginess alike.”

The “Absolution” EP was produced by the band and Scott Creekmore at Mercenary Digital Studios in Zion, Illinois.

Shaun Glass previously stated about the group’s new material, “I think the songs are more powerful and musical than some of the past tracks but still remaining true to our sound.”

In addition to Glass DIRGE WITHIN features vocalist Jeremy “Jerms” Genske, guitarist Matt Szlachta, bassist James Pezanoski (ex-FROM ALL WITHIN), and drummer Frankie Harchut (ex-THE DOOMSDAY CATALYST).

DIRGE WITHIN‘s debut album, “Force Fed Lies”, came out on September 1, 2009 via E1 Music (formerly Koch Records). The CD was mixed by Jeff Rose and Martin “Ginge” Ford of Nott-In-Pill studios in Newport, Wales, United Kingdom. Edsel Dope (DOPE) produced the effort alongside Chris Djuricic (Studio One). The album features guest appearances by Corey Beaulieu of TRIVUM and Michael Angelo Batio of NITRO fame. The cover artwork was created by Stephen Jensen from F3 studios.