DIRGE WITHIN To Enter Studio In December

Former SOIL and current DIRGE WITHIN guitarist Shaun Glass has issued the following update:

“[DIRGE WITHIN] just wrapped up a full U.S. tour for the new ‘Absolution’ EP and we’re now preparing to enter the studio in early December to begin the new album and we’re pretty stoked on how much the songs are still growing as we keep hammering ’em to make sure they are the strongest they can be. Some of the titles [set to appear on this new album, which will be out in early 2012] are ‘Memories’, ‘For My Enemies’, ‘Murder… Savior’. Trust me, this is gonna stomp some asses!”

In other news, Glass has commented on has absence from the current SOIL U.K. tour, which features a lineup that includes the band’s original lead singer and founding member Ryan McCombs (on loan from DROWNING POOL) alongside fellow founding members Tim King (bass) and Adam Zadel (lead guitar) along with former STAIND drummer Jon Wysocki. Glass states, “I am not in SOIL nor is their tour a original lineup reunion. Yes, Ryan is on board as well as Tim, Adam are from the original lineup. I wish them the best, and truthfully I am 100 percent busy and focused on DIRGE WITHIN.”

“Absolution” was made available on August 16. The three-song effort gives fans a taste of what’s to come from the band’s forthcoming sophomore album.

According to a press release, “Absolution” “showcases what fans of DIRGE WITHIN have grown familiar with — powerful grooves, strong hooks and punishing guitar riffs the band has built its sound around. ‘Absolution’ and ‘Prey’ bring a sound that fans are familiar with, while showing progression overall in their sound and songwriting; ‘All Light Fades’ takes their sound up a few notches in intensity and edginess alike.”

The “Absolution” EP was produced by the band and Scott Creekmore at Mercenary Digital Studios in Zion, Illinois.

Shaun Glass previously stated about the group’s new material, “I think the songs are more powerful and musical than some of the past tracks but still remaining true to our sound.”

In addition to Glass DIRGE WITHIN features vocalist Jeremy “Jerms” Genske, guitarist Matt Szlachta, bassist James Pezanoski (ex-FROM ALL WITHIN), and drummer Frankie Harchut (ex-THE DOOMSDAY CATALYST).

DIRGE WITHIN‘s debut album, “Force Fed Lies”, came out on September 1, 2009 via E1 Music. The band has since split with the label.