DIRGE WITHIN To Film ‘Memories’ Video; Band Pulls Out Of ‘Shockwave Festival’ Tour

Chicago heavy metal quintet DIRGE WITHIN will film a music video for the song “Memories”, today with local director Peeler.

Commented DIRGE WITHIN guitarist Shaun Glass: “The video has a very cool storyline as well as some exciting new elements; we think it will blow people’s minds. We couldn’t be more pumped to be filming in our hometown with such a cool, talented director.”

“Memories”, as DIRGE WITHIN vocalist Jeremy “Jerms” Genske explains, is one of the more emotional tracks on the band’s sophomore album, “There Will Be Blood”, as it addresses the sensitive subject of losing someone close to you.

“For me, the song is about the loss of one of my old friends to suicide — the fact that it came out of nowhere when it happened, and how it still lives with me,” said Genske. “But the beautiful part about it is that it’s open to individual interpretation. Anyone can take their own feeling from it.”

In other news, DIRGE WITHIN has revealed that it has been forced to drop off the Shockwave Festival 2012 tour.

“We would like let all know that due to reasons beyond our control we will not be at Shockwave 2012 tour,” said Glass. “We will have updates on new dates soon. And to all the hometown fans, don’t forget about next Monday’s [June 25] show with HELLYEAH at the House of Blues in Chicago!”

DIRGE WITHIN‘s sophomore album, “There Will Be Blood”, was released on April 10 via Rocket Science Ventures/THC: Music. The CD was recorded at Mercenary Studios in Zion, Illinois with engineer Scott Creekmore and producer Ari Mihalopoulos and was mixed at Inner Light Studios with Ari and DIRGE WITHIN guitarist Shaun Glass.

Guitarist Matt Szlachta left DIRGE WITHIN to continue to focus on his passion for teaching guitar to his students and for other personal reasons. He has since been replaced by Chuck Wepfer.

DIRGE WITHIN‘s new album is the band’s first to feature drummer Frankie Harchut and bassist Jeff Paulick (bassist/vocalist of LAZARUS A.D.), who has been filling on bass duties on tour with DIRGE WITHIN.

A four-and-a-half-minute YouTube clip containing audio samples of the “There Will Be Blood” album songs “For My Enemies”, “There Will Be Blood”, “Vultures”, “Without You”, “As We Prey”, “Memories” and “Apathy” can be found below.

DIRGE WITHIN‘s debut album, “Force Fed Lies”, came out on September 1, 2009 via E1 Music.

“There Will Be Blood” audio samples: