DOWN: Entire Sayreville Concert Fan-Filmed Video Footage Available

Fan-filmed video footage of DOWN‘s entire September 29 performance at the Starland Ballroom in Sayreville, New Jersey can be seen below.

The band’s setlist was as follows:

01. Eyes Of The South
02. Witchtripper
03. Open Coffins
04. Lysergik Funeral Procession
05. Lifer
06. Pillars Of Eternity
07. Losing All
08. Ghosts Along The Mississippi
09. New Orleans Is A Dying Whore
10. Temptation’s Wings
11. Misfortune Teller


12. Hail The Leaf
13. Stone The Crow
14. Bury Me In Smoke

DOWN‘s new EP, “Down IV Part I – The Purple EP”, sold 12,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 35 on The Billboard 200 chart.

“Down IV Part I – The Purple EP”, DOWN‘s first in a series of four EPs to be released over the next few years (with a year between EPs), each touching on a different aspect of the band’s sound, came out on September 18. It will be followed by the second collection of songs early next year, around the time of a planned U.S. tour. EPs three and four are scheduled for later in 2013.

“Down IV Part I – The Purple EP” heralds the sound of DOWN going back to its roots, with influences from BLACK SABBATH, SAINT VITUS and WITCHFINDER GENERAL.

The track listing for the effort is as follows:

01. Levitation
02. Witchtripper
03. Open Coffins
04. The Curse Is A Lie
05. This Work Is Timeless
06. Misfortune Teller

Lyrically, the EP goes beyond just personal experiences, and explores themes that include the faith of mankind, the imperfection of mankind and cultural belief systems.

DOWN gives me the platform to be poetic and paint imagery with lyrics,” said vocalist Philip Anselmo. “That’s the approach I took. They complement the music and create an ominous feeling. Ultimately, when people consume the words, it’s always their interpretation that matters. I could be image-conscious though when I wrote. It’s not so gut level or street. The darker shit is some of my favorite.”