DREAMSHADE: Two New Songs Available For Streaming

Swiss modern melodic death metallers DREAMSHADE will release their sophomore album, “The Gift Of Life”, on January 25, 2013 via Spinefarm. The CD was mixed and mastered by Jacob Hansen.

Two songs from the album — “Sandcastles” and “Photographs” — can be streamed below. Also available is behind-the-scenes footage from the making of the “Photographs” video.

Says they band: “The idea behind the song ‘Photographs’ is very simple. It is about all those childhood friends who now disappeared from your life. You used to be close friends, but time passed and now you can barely recognize each other… or you pretend not to. You cross each other and you just look away: nobody is strong enough to say hi.

“We wanted to insert this concept in a song because it’s something people live every day. It’s a feeling you just can’t ignore.

“We went to Wroclaw (Poland) to shoot the video with Grupa13 (an awesome local video company who did videos for BEHEMOTH, DECAPITATED, KREATOR, SONATA ARCTICA and many other cool artists) and they definitely did a great job! The location they found was perfect, they are real professionals and turned out to be also good fellas! We really had a great time. Another video for the upcoming album has been shot with them and we’re sure it is going to be ridiculously awesome.”

DREAMSHADE parted ways with singer Iko Castelli last November due to musical differences and replaced him with Kevin Cali (ROOTS OF DEATH).

DREAMSHADE‘s debut album, “What Silence Hides”, came out in March 2011. A press release previously described the CD as “sit[ting] loosely under the ‘melodic death metal’ banner, a genre that continues to be developed by [DREAMSHADE‘s] [then-]labelmates CHILDREN OF BODOM. [But] DREAMSHADE succeed in bringing modern elements to the traditions of the music — the result being a fresh blend of melodic death and progressive metal.”


Kevin Calì – Vocals
Fernando “Fella” Di Cicco – Guitar, Vocals
Rocco Ghielmini – Guitar
Ivan Moccia – Bass
Serafino “Sera” Chiommino – Drums