PEARL JAM guitarist Mike McCready and ex-GUNS N’ ROSES and VELVET REVOLVER bass player Duff McKagan are working with WALKING PAPERS, the new Seattle band launched by former SCREAMING TREES drummer Barrett Martin and longtime Seattle musician Jeff Angell. McKagan plays bass on the band’s entire debut disc, while McCready contributes lead guitar solos. Mixed by Jack Endino, the record was released on October 16 via Boredom Killing Business/Sunyata Records and the first single, “Your Secret’s Safe With Me”, is streaming at the band’s Facebook page.

On November 10, RockNLive.org conducted an interview with McKagan and Angell at Nouveau Casino in Paris, France during WALKING PAPERS‘ short European tour. You can now watch the chat below.

“Walking Papers” track listing:

01. Already Dead
02. The Whole World’s Watching
03. Your Secret’s Safe With Me
04. Red Envelopes
05. Leave Me In The Dark
06. The Butcher
07. Two Tickets And A Room
08. I’ll Stick Around
09. Capital T
10. A Place Like This
11. Independence Day

Commented Martin: “Jeff Angell, our singer and guitarist, is a natural storyteller, and Ben Anderson plays keyboards like a classic soul man session player. With Duff and I as the rhythm section, let’s just say we are the seasoned veterans. We play old-school, gritty, bluesy American rock and roll, and as a quartet, that’s as real as it gets.”

Martin and McCready previously played together in MAD SEASON, alongside late ALICE IN CHAINS singer Layne Staley. The band is currently being reactivated with new vocals being recorded over tracks originally laid down for an abandoned second MAD SEASON album.

McKagan was born and raised in Seattle and played in a punk band there called 10 MINUTE WARNING before migrating to Los Angeles and joining GUNS.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *