EDGUY: New Album Artwork, Track Listing Revealed

Edguy - Age Of The Joker

Edguy – “Age Of The Joker”

German melodic metallers EDGUY will release their new album, “Age Of The Joker”, in Europe on August 29 via Nuclear Blast Records. The CD was recorded at Peppermint Park studio (SCORPIONS, PHIL COLLINS) in Hannover, which was previously described by the group as “a recording temple with a tremendously great-sounding room.”


According to the French edition of Rock Hard magazine, which attended a media listening session of the album on May 28 at Peppermint Park, “Age Of The Joker” will feature the following track listing:


01. Robin Hood

02. Nobody’s Hero

03. Rock Of Cashel

04. Pandora’s Box

05. Breathe

06. Two Out Of Seven

07. Fire On The Downline

08. Behind The Gates To Midnight World


Regarding the band’s forthcoming album, EDGUY frontman Tobias Sammet recently said, “The new songs sound great, we have thirteen of them, and we’ll pick maybe ten and put them on the album. We have anthemic melodies, although it’s not kitsch.


“When you record anthemic music, you tend to be dangerously close to kitsch, it’s a fine line and I think we balance on that fine line pretty well.


“To cut a long story a little insignificantly shorter: I just think it is great, and that’s what counts. Real music, you know?”


“We were always striving for a powerful but natural sound. I guess we had a good sound recently, but I think there is always room to improve.


“The more I listen to what’s going on in the heavy metal world these days, the more I long for drums that sound like drums. I want them to sound powerful without sounding like Atari.”


EDGUY will embark on a European headlining tour in September with support from KOTTAK (the band fronted by SCORPIONS drummer James Kottak).