ENGEL Frontman Talks About Lyrics On ‘Blood Of Saints’ (Video)

An eight-minute video clip in which vocalist Mangan Klavborn of Gothenburg, Sweden-based metallers ENGEL talks about the lyrical themes covered on the band’s third album, “Blood Of Saints”, can be seen below.

ENGEL will take part in a signing session in their hometown on May 18 at 5:30 p.m. at Media Markt Bäckebol. There will also be a release party for “Blood Of Saints” later that evening at Sticky Fingers.

“Blood Of Saints” will be released on May 18 via Season Of Mist. The CD was recorded at Antfarm studios in Aabyhøj, Denmark. According to the group, the new album “is going to be a good mixture between both [previous ENGEL efforts] ‘Threnody’ [2010] and ‘Absolute Design’ [2007], but with some new angles as well! If you liked ‘Threnody’, you will LOVE ‘Blood Of Saints’!”

“Blood Of Saints” track listing:

01. Question Your Place
02. Frontline
03. Feel Afraid
04. Numb
05. Cash King
06. One Good Thing
07. Blood of Saints
08. Down to Nothing
09. Drama Queen
10. In Darkness
11. Journeys End

The “Question Your Place” video can be seen below. The clip was filmed on February 10 at Sticky Fingers in Gothenburg with director Kristofer “Kiggs” Carlsson.

ENGEL features guitarists Marcus Sunesson (THE CROWN) and Niclas Engelin (PASSENGER, ex-GARDENIAN, IN FLAMES), vocalist Mangan Klavborn, drummer Jimmy Olausson (ex-MARIONETTE) and bassist Steve Drennan (LOCUS).

An 11-minute video clip in which Sunesson and Engelin present the tracks from the new CD can be seen below.

“Threnody” was released in Europe on November 8, 2010 and in the U.S. on January 11, 2011 via Season Of Mist. The CD was issued in Japan on April 20, 2010 via Avex.

The band was previously signed to SPV Records which issued ENGEL‘s debut album, “Absolute Design”, in 2007.

“Blood Of Saints” lyrical track by track:


“Blood Of Saints” track by track:


“Question Your Place” video:





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *