EX DEO: ‘Caligvla’ Preview Available

Audio samples of the tracks that will appear on “Caligvla”, the sophomore album from EX DEO, the Ancient Roman-themed arsenal fronted by KATAKLYSM singer Maurizio Iacono, can be streamed in the YouTube clip below.

“Caligvla” will be released via Austria’s Napalm Records on the following dates:

Aug. 29 – Spain, Finland, Sweden, Greece
Aug. 31 – Germany/Austria/Switzerland, Benelux
Sep. 03 – Rest of Europe
Sep. 11 – USA/Canada

“Caligvla” was mixed by KATAKLYSM guitarist Jean-François Dagenais, who has previously worked with MALEVOLENT CREATION, MISERY INDEX and DESPISED ICON, among others. The artwork and layout for the album were handled by SEPTICFLESH‘s Seth Siro Anton. The booklet for the new album will feature commentaries and descriptions from frontman Iacono with his views on each song. The limited first pressing will be released as a six-panel digipack featuring the bonus track “Burned To Serve As Nocturnal Light”, a song dealing with Caligvla‘s madman rival emperor Nero.

The “I, Caligvla” video can be seen below. The clip, which was filmed in June in Philadelphia, features an appearance by Iacono‘s girlfriend, Colombian model Suzzy, and is described by the band as “a resurrection in time, blood and courage.”

“Caligvla” features contributions from ALL SHALL PERISH guitarist Francesco Artusato, TRISTANIA singer Mariangela Demurtas, SEPTICFLESH‘s Seth Siro Anton and GRAVEWORM‘s Stefano Fiori. Every invited guest on the album is of Roman or Greek descent.

“Caligvla” track listing:

01. I, Caligvla
02. The Tiberius Cliff (Exile To Capri)
03. Per Oculos Aquila
04. Pollice Verso (Damnatio Ad Bestia)
05. Divide Et Impera
06. Burned To Serve As Nocturnal Light
07. Teutuborg (Ambush Of Varus)
08. Along The Appian Way
09. Once Were Romans
10. Evocatio: The Temple Of Castor Pollux

“Caligvla” preview:


“I, Caligvla” video:




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *