EXTOL: Teaser For New Album Released

A five-minute teaser for the self-titled fifth album from the reactivated Norwegian metal band EXTOL can be seen below. The CD will be released on June 25 (one day earlier internationally) via Indie Recordings.

According to a press release, EXTOL‘s new CD “is a like a complex metallic alloy. The playfulness of the songs and the brutal bonding of genres are transformed into a fusion of atmospheric and harmonic prog rock, merged with the tempered thrash and death metal that EXTOL so uniquely master. This album leads us straight to the core of EXTOL.”

Comments EXTOL drummer David Husvik: “‘Extol’ is the album that was planned all the way, but never materialized. Partly due to changes in the lineup, but also because of the band´s urge to always reach for something new. The album is the recap of 20 years of Extolhistory, both musically and lyrically.”

With a long-awaited creative collaboration with Jens Bogren (OPETH, PARADISE LOST, ENSLAVED) and some truly magnificent artwork by Travis Smith (KATATONIA, OPETH, DEATH), EXTOL has managed to create a timeless masterpiece and the vision of the band seems clearer than ever.

Mastermind Ole Børud has returned, and along with Husvik and Peter Espevoll, the trio now constitutes the 2013 lineup of EXTOL.

“Extol” track listing:

01. Betrayal
02. Open The Gates
03. Wastelands
04. A Gift Beyond Human Reach
05. Faltering Moves
06. Behold The Sun
07. Dawn Of Redemption
08. Ministers
09. Extol
10. Unveiling The Obscure

Check out the song “Open The Gates” in the YouTube clip below.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *