FOREIGNER’s ‘Alive & Rockin” To Receive CD Release In May

Eagle Rock Entertainment has set a May 29 release date for FOREIGNER‘s “Alive Rockin'”, recorded at one of Europe’s most popular hard rock fests, the 2006 Bang Your Head!!! festival in Balingen, Germany. This nine-track concert, previously released on DVD only (Eagle Rock Entertainment) is now available for the first time on CD.

“My initial musical vision for FOREIGNER was to combine blues and RB with British rock and make it sound soulful and authentic,” says guitarist Mick Jones. “I’d grown up in England and had the English influence but I was also inspired by many elements of American music from Mississippi blues to country. FOREIGNER was the vehicle to get that musical blend across.”

That “blend” was never more evident than on this rockin’ night as Jones — with vocalist Kelly Hansen, drummer Jason Bonham, keyboardist Jeff Jacobs, multi-instrumentalist Tom Gimbel (guitars, saxophone, flute) and bassist Jeff Pilson — knocked out a crowd-pleasing set that included eight U.S. Top 20 hits including anthems “Juke Box Hero”, “Cold As Ice” and “Hot Blooded”.

This most beloved of classic rock bands has been serving up the hits for over 30 years. With over 70 million records sold worldwide, they’re second only to LED ZEPPELIN on the Atlantic Records roster in total album sales. Jones, producer of 10 of FOREIGNER‘s multi-platinum albums, has composed some of the most memorable riffs in rock history. After forming SPOOKY TOOTH with Gary Wright in the early 1970s, he left his native England to move to New York in 1976 and formed FOREIGNER.

“Alive Rockin'” track listing:

01. Double Vision
02. Head Games
03. Dirty White Boy
04. Cold As Ice
05. Starrider
06. Feels Like The First Time
07. Urgent
08. Juke Box Hero / Whole Lotta Love
09. Hot Blooded