Former OPETH Drummer’s SOEN: ‘Delenda’ Video Released

“Delenda”, the new video from SOEN — the project featuring Swedish drummer Martin Lopez (ex-OPETH, AMON AMARTH), bassist Steve DiGiorgio (SADUS, TESTAMENT, DEATH, ICED EARTH), vocalist Joel Ekelöf (WILLOWTREE), and guitarist Kim Platbarzdis — can be seen below. The clip was helmed by director Patric Ullaeus of Revolver Film Company, who has previously worked with DIMMU BORGIR, LACUNA COIL, IN FLAMES, SONIC SYNDICATE and KAMELOT, among others.

“Delenda” comes off SOEN‘s debut album, “Cognitive”, which was released on February 15 via Spinefarm Records. The CD was mixed by the Grammy Award-winning Canadian producer David Bottrill, who has previously worked with PETER GABRIEL, TOOL, SMASHING PUMPKINS and MUSE.

“Cognitive” track listing:

01. Fraktal
02. Fraccions
03. Delenda
04. Last Light
05. Oscillation
06. Canvas
07. Ideate
08. Purpose
09. Slithering
10. Savia
11. Writhen (bonus track)

SOEN‘s music is described in a press release as “a unique mix of melodic and rhythmic exprementation.”

When asked about the criticism SOEN has received for being too heavily influenced by TOOL, Martin recently told the Grande Rock web site, “We are inspired by TOOL, but I consider them not only a band but a genre. Besides that, I really don’t think there’s anything to argue about, we make good music whoever it would remind you of. Some people tend to dislike rather than like and are looking for faults instead of seeing music for what it is, good or bad.”

Regarding whether SOEN had a certain goal in mind when entering the studio to begin work on “Cognitive”, Martin said, “I don’t think we had a plan of what to sound like; everything fell into place while doing it. The goal was set on making as good music as we possibly could without letting anything from the outside alter our perception of how good music should sound.”

“Delenda” video:


“Savia” video:





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *