FURYON: Making Of ‘Gravitas’ Part 3 (Video)

The third in a series of video clips featuring behind-the-scenes footage from the making of “Gravitas”, the debut album from U.K. metallers FURYON, can be seen below. The CD was released on March 23 in Europe and March 27 in North America via Frontiers Records.

FURYON is a new band from the U.K. who like nothing more than to challenge expectations. Raised on a diet of heavy metal, prog, and classic rock, FURYON mix all these components for a truly unique and contemporary sound. Delivering huge rock-radio-friendly songs, with technically-challenging-yet-infectiously-catchy musicianship, they are dedicated to one sole purpose: making hard-hitting songs that will stand the test of time.

“Our music is good songs with touches of intelligence,” says singer Matt Mitchell, “There are a many different moods that come out from this album and all the songs have meaning and substance. Heavy and melodic! That is what FURYON and this album, ‘Gravitas’, is about.”

What separates FURYON from the crowd is the sheer quality of their musicianship. Boasting two truly world-class guitarists in the form of Chris Green and Pat “The Shred” Heath, FURYON have few peers when it comes to the quality of their iconic riffs and jaw-dropping solos. Backing them up is one of the tightest rhythm sections the rock world has to offer, with the awesome combination of Lee Farmery and Alex “Nickel” Bowen. Leading from the front is the outstanding vocal versatility of Matt Mitchell, whose emotion drenched voice effortlessly moves between melodic and crunchingly heavy.

“We really have been inspired by many bands over the time, as all musicians and writers are,” continues Matt, “but for this album, inspirations from bands like SOUNDGARDEN, ALICE IN CHAINS, TOOL, MASTODON, ALTER BRIDGE and IRON MAIDEN spring to mind.”

In 2009, after a sell-out tour and accompanying EP, FURYON set about the serious business of writing their debut album. The early demos reached the ears of U.S. producer Rick Beato (SHINEDOWN, FOZZY), and a powerful and symbiotic relationship was formed.

“Our hookup with Rick Beato was through Kip Winger,” recalls Matt. “We toured with WINGER on their ‘Karma’ tour and we had spoken with Kip about the band SHINEDOWN and how we liked there productions. Kip hooked us up with Rick and to our delight he was interested in doing the album. Rick is a truly great producer and writer.”

Released independently on a low profile and later covermounted on Metal Hammer U.K., “Gravitas” was made available on Frontiers Records with the following track listing:

01. Disappear Again
02. Stand Like Stone
03. Souvenirs
04. Don’t Follow
05. New Way of Living
06. Voodoo Me
07. Fear Alone
08. Wasted on You
09. Our Peace Someday
10. Desert Suicide
11. Voodoo Me (acoustic) *
12. Souvenirs (acoustic) *

* Bonus tracks

The “Disappear Again” video can be seen below.


Matt Mitchell – Vocals
Chris Green – Guitars
Pat Heath – Guitars
Alex “Nickel” Bowen – Bass
Lee Farmery – Drums

Making of “Gravitas” – Part 3:


Making of “Gravitas” – Part 2:


Making of “Gravitas” – Part 1:


“Don’t Follow” video: