GENE HOGLAN In The Studio With Reactivated VIKING; Video Available

Legendary drummer Gene “The Atomic Clock” Hoglan (DARK ANGEL, STRAPPING YOUNG LAD, FEAR FACTORY, DETHKLOK) has laid down the drum tracks on the long-awaited comeback album from Los Angeles thrashers VIKING, entitled “No Child Left Behind”. Songtitles set to appear on the CD include “9:02 On Flight 182”, “An Ideal Opportunity”, “Debt To Me”, “Helen Behind The Door”, “A Thousand Reasons I Hate You” and “Wretched Old Mildred”.

Commented the band: “We were pretty bummed when [regular VIKING drummer] Matt Jordan‘s schedule suddenly rearranged to keep him from the studio dates we’d booked for the end of October. But he told us to put the fans first — he wants ‘No Child Left Behind’ to get into [the fans’] hands as soon as humanly possible. So, then we were stuck in the position of having to find someone in a short period of time, work out the tunes, and give the fans an album that would still be true to the spirit of the third full-length VIKING album.

“Who’s been with us since the beginning? Who’s been a fan, a help, and a huge support through our whole career? Maybe the guy who was our drum tech in the studio when we recorded drums for ‘Man Of Straw’? Yeah, he’s the same guy who’s also written an album with the immortal Viking Brett Eriksen!

“Yep, you guessed it: From DARK ANGEL, STRAPPING YOUNG LAD, DETHKLOK, FEAR FACTORY, and TESTAMENT… The Atomic Clock himself: Gene Hoglan!

Matt Jordan is stoked about our choice, and you should be, too! And we’re super-thankful to Gene for opening his ridiculously busy schedule!”

Video footage of Hoglan in the studio with VIKING can be seen below.

Founded in the spring of 1986 in Los Angeles, VIKING released two full-length albums on the Metal Blade label, 1987’s “Do Or Die” and 1989’s “Man Of Straw”.

Long hailed as one of the most rare and hard to find speed/thrash metal albums by collectors, “Man Of Straw” was re-released in 2006 via Lost And Found Records. This fully licensed CD release was remastered and contained rare and never-before-heard bonus tracks.