GEOFF TATE’s QUEENSRŸCHE To Release ‘Cold’ 7" Single Featuring New Version Of ‘Silent Lucidity’

Deadline Music/Cleopatra Records has released “Cold”, the new single from the Geoff Tate-fronted version of QUEENSRŸCHE, via iTunes. The track, which was mixed by Anthony Focx (NEWSTED, AEROSMITH, NIGHT RANGER, TED NUGENT), will also be released as a special limited-edition seven-inch vinyl single with a newly recorded version of the QUEENSRŸCHE classic “Silent Lucidity” — mixed by Jürgen Engler (DORO, DIE KRUPPS) — on the B-side.

“Cold” comes off QUEENSRŸCHE‘s new album, “Frequency Unknown”, which is scheduled for release on April 23 via Deadline Music/Cleopatra. The CD was produced by Jason Slater at a studio in Northern California.

Acclaimed musician, record producer and engineer Billy Sherwood last week “withdrew” from remixing “Frequency Unknown”, citing “scheduling issues.”

After Sherwood‘s involvement with the project first became public, Deadline Music/Cleopatra released a statement to BLABBERMOUTH.NET in which the record company explained that “some of the response” to previews of the CD were less than positive. “Some complained about the overall quality of the recordings, and in particular the mix,” the statement read. “We here at Deadline Music have the utmost confidence in the powerful songwriting and outstanding performances from Geoff Tate and crew on this album, but we also want the fans to know that we are listening to them as well! So, in the interest of democratic free choice, Deadline Music has commissioned the superbly talented musician/producer Billy Sherwood (formerly of YES) to remix the album. Now fans will be able to decide which mix they feel best represents the album: the original mix, which will be released on April 23rd, or the new mix … that will be made available at a future date to be announced…. WE REMIX, YOU DECIDE!”

In a post on his official blog, Slater wrote: “Anybody that was around while we were making the record knows how slammed we were for time. In the end, the mixes suffered. As they’re the last part of the process, we didn’t really have time to mix them properly. It was more of a race against the clock than a mix situation. Much to Cleopatra‘s credit, they’ve given us extra time to get things right.

“Back when there was lots of money in the record business, it was pretty common to go back and do recalls on mixes, but as the margins have gotten tighter, it almost never happens anymore. All that being said, I have to commend Cleopatra for putting the record first and letting us go back and recall the mixes. It’s been quite awhile since a label spent the time and money to go back and get things right.

“I’m going back and doing three or four. A few of the mixes were fine and another mixer is doing one or two.

“I wanna thank the folks at Cleopatra for the opportunity to make this record right. Most labels nowadays will just throw the record on the shelves (iTunes) instead of spending the money/time to do recalls. The record will be much better for it, and that’s all that really matters.”

Although a lineup for Tate‘s QUEENSRŸCHE was originally announced in the fall of 2012, things have changed. The band will now feature Tate along with bassist Rudy Sarzo (OZZY OSBOURNE, DIO, WHITESNAKE, QUIET RIOT), guitarist Kelly Gray (QUEENSRŸCHE 1998-2001), keyboardist Randy Gane and new additions, guitarist Robert Sarzo (QUIET RIOT, HURRICANE) and drummer Simon Wright (AC/DC, DIO, RHINO BUCKET). Guest musicians on the CD include K.K. Downing (JUDAS PRIEST), Chris Poland (MEGADETH), Ty Tabor (KING’S X), Paul Bostaph (SLAYER, TESTAMENT, EXODUS), Lita Ford, Brad Gillis (NIGHT RANGER), Dave Meniketti (YT) and Craig Locicero (FORBIDDEN).

“Frequency Unknown” is packaged with bonus tracks — four QUEENSRŸCHE classics, newly recorded, including the smash hit single “Silent Lucidity”.

“Frequency Unknown” track listing:

01. When Lightning Strikes
02. Running Backwards
03. Fallen
04. Life Without You
05. In The Hands Of God
06. Cold
07. The Weight Of The World
08. Slave
09. Dare
10. Everything

Bonus tracks: (2013 versions)

11. Silent Lucidity
12. Empire
13. Jet City Woman
14. I Don t Believe In Love