GOJIRA: New Video Interview Posted Online

Sweden’s CrankItUp.se recently conducted an interview with guitarist/vocalist Joseph Duplantier and drummer Mario Duplantier of French progressive metallers GOJIRA. You can now watch the chat below.

GOJIRA played the title track of its forthcoming fifth album, “L’Enfant Sauvage”, this past night (Monday, April 30) at Rockstore in Montpellier, France. Fan-filmed video footage of the performance can be seen below.

Due on June 26 via Roadrunner Records, “L’Enfant Sauvage” (which translates to “The Wild Child”) features 11 tracks of mind-bending, thunderous metal. The CD was recorded at Spin Recording Studios in Long Island City, New York with co-producer Josh Wilbur (LAMB OF GOD).

In a recent interview with Metalshrine, Joseph Duplantier stated about GOJIRA‘s new album title, “We couldn’t call it ‘The Wild Child’, because it’s hard to translate ‘L’Enfant Sauvage’. It’s not really the wild child as understood in English, because a wild child for me, has an aspect like someone out of control somehow. ‘L’Enfant Sauvage’ in French… ‘Sauvage’ is something that is not educated or something that is like free and completely free in nature. A wild flower that goes wherever she wants and becomes something beautiful. The idea with ‘L’Enfant Sauvage’ is like with a human that would grow up in nature, raised by wolves, for example, without the influence from others and the influence from institutions or society in general. Without a social security number. [laughs] Not even a name. This is what you are and I am on the inside, right? How much the education and the culture, emotions and the guilt are interacting with us and it changes us and how far are we from this pure child inside? That’s the question we had on this album.”

A special collector’s package of “L’Enfant Sauvage” will feature two bonus tracks (“This Emptiness” and “My Last Creation”) and a double-colored vinyl version of the record, along with an exclusive t-shirt.

“L’Enfant Sauvage” track listing:

01. Explosia
02. L’Enfant Sauvage
03. The Axe
04. Liquid Fire
05. The Wild Healer
06. Planned Obsolescence
07. Mouth Of Kala
08. The Gift Of Guilt
09. Pain Is A Master
10. Born In Winter
11. The Fall



“L’Enfant Sauvage” performance:


“L’Enfant Sauvage” studio version:




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *